Candidates file for August primary

Tuesday, February 26, 2008 | 6:24 p.m. CST; updated 8:04 a.m. CDT, Monday, July 21, 2008

JEFFERSON CITY — Tuesday was the first day for candidates to officially file for the Aug. 5 primary. For candidates who filed on the first day, the order they appear on the ballot is determined by a random number drawing. Candidates who file after Tuesday will appear on the ballot in the order they file. The last chance to file is 5 p.m. March 25.

Gov. Blunt’s announcement earlier this year that he won’t run for office again has resulted in a political reshuffling of sorts across Missouri. U.S. Rep. Kenny Hulshof’s decision to run for governor has resulted in eight candidates so far announcing that they will vie for his vacated spot in Congress. Current Attorney General Jay Nixon’s announcement several months ago that he will run for governor gave Columbia’s State Rep. Jeff Harris an opportunity to move up in the political arena and run for the attorney general spot.

According to the Secretary of State’s Web site, the following candidates had officially filed by 5 p.m. Tuesday:


Richard Allen Kline (R-Gipsy)

Scott Long (R-Mountain View)

Kenny Hulshof (R-Columbia)

Sarah Steelman (R-Rolla)

Jeremiah W. “Jay” Nixon (D-Jefferson City)

Lieutenant Governor:

Peter Kinder (R-Cape Girardeau)

Paul Douglas Sims (R-Lecoma)

Michael E. Carter (D-St. Charles)

Sam Page (D-Creve Coeur)

Teddy Fleck (Libertarian-Springfield)

Secretary of State:

Robin Carnahan (D-St. Louis)

State Treasurer:

Brad Lager (R-Savannah)

Clint Zweifel (D-Florissant)

Andria Danine Simckes (D-St. Louis)

Mark Powell (D-Arnold)

Attorney General:

Mike Gibbons (R-Jefferson City)

Jeff Harris (D-Columbia)

Chris Koster (D-Jefferson City)

Margaret Donnelly (D-St. Louis)

U.S. Representative- District 9:

Brock Olivo (R-Hermann)

Dan Bishir (R-St. Peters)

Danielle “Danie” Moore (R-Fulton)

Dr. Bob Onder (R-Lake St. Louis)

Judy Baker (D-Columbia)

Steve Gaw (D-Holts Summit)

Jeff W. Schaeperkoetter (D-Owensville)

Lyndon Bode (D-Palmyra)

State Senate- District 19:

Chuck Graham (D-Columbia)

State Representative- District 9:

Paul Quinn (D-Monroe City)

State Representative- District 21:

Steve Hobbs (R-Mexico)

Kelly Schultz (D-Columbia)

State Representative- District 23:

Cande Lveson (D-Columbia)

State Representative- District 25:

Ryan Asbridge (R-Columbia)

Sean Spence (D-Columbia)

Mary Wynne Still (D-Columbia)

Bob Pund (D-Columbia)

For an updated list of candidates and the official ballot order, go to Secretary of State Robin Carnahan’s Web site at

Like what you see here? Become a member.

Show Me the Errors (What's this?)

Report corrections or additions here. Leave comments below here.

You must be logged in to participate in the Show Me the Errors contest.


Leave a comment

Speak up and join the conversation! Make sure to follow the guidelines outlined below and register with our site. You must be logged in to comment. (Our full comment policy is here.)

  • Don't use obscene, profane or vulgar language.
  • Don't use language that makes personal attacks on fellow commenters or discriminates based on race, religion, gender or ethnicity.
  • Use your real first and last name when registering on the website. It will be published with every comment. (Read why we ask for that here.)
  • Don’t solicit or promote businesses.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through. If you see something objectionable, please click the "Report comment" link.

You must be logged in to comment.

Forget your password?

Don't have an account? Register here.