Boone County Ballot List

Wednesday, March 5, 2008 | 9:20 p.m. CST; updated 1:25 p.m. CDT, Monday, July 21, 2008

Boone County Ballot Roundup

Here is a roundup of candidates and issues on the ballot in Boone County’s smaller towns, cities and school districts. All terms for municipal offices are two-year terms, and all school board positions are three-year terms unless otherwise indicated.


Board of Aldermen: Barbara Bishop, currently Ward 3 Alderman, is running against Mike Asmus for mayor. Larry Reberry is running unopposed in Ward 1. Randy Wyatt is running unopposed for Ward 2, and Michael Jackson is running unopposed for Ward 3.

Southern Boone County R-1 School District

School board: Jesse “Jay” Richardson, Bridget Canaday, Kevin Hosman, Erin Nelson, Edward Bartel, Toni Tennill, Charles Clayton and Rick Gowdy are running for three available seats.

Bond issue: The district is asking for a $1.7 million bond issue for the purpose of equipping, constructing, furnishing and improving school facilities, including the construction of an addition to the elementary school to accommodate fifth-grade students. No tax increase would be required if the issue is approved.

North Callaway R-1 School District

School board: Kevin Zuroweste, Jeff Maddox, Sandra Lavy, Jason Smith, David (Chris) Gilman, Robert Barnes, Regan Love and Roy Rohrbach are running for three available seats.


Board of Aldermen: Shelley (Tuggle) Becker and Tim Grenke are running for mayor. No candidate filed for Ward 1 alderman. Jason Ridgel and Dick Bontatibus are running for Ward 2 alderman, and Jessica Orsini is running unopposed in Ward 3.

Centralia R-6 School District

School board: Justin Romine, Mary Peeper, Timothy Beard and Nathan Martin are running for three available seats.


Board of Aldermen: Jeffrey Baker is challenging incumbent mayor Carl South. Incumbent Jane Alexander is running unopposed in Ward 1, and Jeff Leverenz is running unopposed in Ward 2.

Hallsville R-4 School District

School board: Danny Hardin, John Berkbuegler, Mike Crabtree and Dena Ray are running for three available seats.


Board of Trustees: Pam Timmermann is unopposed for her third term, and Reggie Wilhite is unopposed for a second term. There are two available seats.

Harrisburg R-8 School District

School board: Sean Cochran, Elaina Priddy, Jeff Arp, Cindy Roller, Scott Eaton and Blake Spry are running for three available seats.


Town board: Nancy Grant, Jeanette Crawford, Michael Rodemeyer and Douglas Lammers are running for five available one-year terms. Hartsburg allows five blank lines so voters can write in five names other than those listed.


Board of trustees: Ed McGee, Dallas Lancaster and Dorthy Eberhart are running unopposed for three available positions.

Proposition 1: Seeks a half-cent sales tax.

Proposition 2: Seeks a 50-cent property tax levy.


Town board: Marvin Sapp and Lucille Coleman are running unopposed for two available positions.


Board of Trustees: Burdette Frew, Ronald Skiles and Cheryl Haynie are running unopposed for three available positions.


Board of Aldermen: Conrad Yates and Joe Aguirre are running in Ward 1. No candidate has filed for an available seat in Ward 2.


Board of Aldermen: Andrew Perkins is unopposed in Ward 1 West, and Kevin Abrahamson is unopposed in Ward 2 East.

Sturgeon R-5 School District

School board: Doug Bowne, Rhonda Jennings-Burks, Traci Lea Chandler, Darrin Kelly and Julie Robinson-Williams are running for three available seats.

Public Water Supply District 4

Incumbent Jeane Grace is running against Don Bryson for Subdistrict 5 director.

— Compiled by Paul David Lampe and Michael Nunez

Like what you see here? Become a member.

Show Me the Errors (What's this?)

Report corrections or additions here. Leave comments below here.

You must be logged in to participate in the Show Me the Errors contest.


Leave a comment

Speak up and join the conversation! Make sure to follow the guidelines outlined below and register with our site. You must be logged in to comment. (Our full comment policy is here.)

  • Don't use obscene, profane or vulgar language.
  • Don't use language that makes personal attacks on fellow commenters or discriminates based on race, religion, gender or ethnicity.
  • Use your real first and last name when registering on the website. It will be published with every comment. (Read why we ask for that here.)
  • Don’t solicit or promote businesses.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through. If you see something objectionable, please click the "Report comment" link.

You must be logged in to comment.

Forget your password?

Don't have an account? Register here.