List of Missouri candidates

Tuesday, March 25, 2008 | 4:29 p.m. CDT; updated 3:04 p.m. CDT, Tuesday, July 22, 2008

COLUMBIA — Tuesday was the deadline in Missouri for candidates to file for the Aug. 5 primary elections; the general election will be Nov. 4. Candidates are listed in the order they appear on the Boone County Clerk listing or Missouri Secretary of State Web site.

Boone County

Associate Commissioner - District 1

Democrat: Karen M. Miller, Columbia; Sid Sullivan, Columbia; Mark Stone, Columbia

Associate Commissioner - District 2

Democrat: Skip Elkin, Columbia


Democrat: Dwayne Carey, Columbia


Democrat: Tom Schauwecker, Columbia; Barbara Gardner-Bishop, Ashland


Democrat: Kay Murray, Columbia

Public Administrator

Democrat: Cathy D. Richards, Columbia; Casey Forbis, Hallsville; Dan Dunham, Columbia

Republican: John D. Sullivan, Columbia



Republican: Richard Allen Kline, Gipsy; Scott Long, Mountain View; Sarah Steelman, Rolla; Kenny Hulshof, Columbia; Jennie Lee (Jen) Sievers, Jackson

Democrat: Jeremiah W. (Jay) Nixon, Jefferson City; Christina Anderson, Springfield; Daniel Carroll, Shelbina

Libertarian: Andrew W. Finkenstadt, St. Charles

Lieutenant Governor

Republican: Peter Kinder, Cape Girardeau; Paul Douglas Sims, Lecoma; Arthur Hodge Sr, Springfield

Democrat: Sam Page, Creve Coeur; Michael E. Carter, St. Charles; Richard Charles Tolbert, Kansas City; Becky L. Plattner, Grand Pass; Mary Williams, Jefferson City; C. Lillian Metzger, Troy

Libertarian: Teddy Fleck, Springfield

Secretary of State

Republican: Mitchell (Mitch) Hubbard, Fulton

Democrat: Robin Carnahan, St. Louis

Libertarian: Wes Upchurch, Columbia


Republican: Brad Lager, Savannah; Darrel D. Day, Springfield

Democrat: Mark Powell, Arnold; Clint Zweifel, Florissant; Andria Danine Simckes, St. Louis; Charles B. Wheeler, Kansas City

Attorney General

Republican: Mike Gibbons, Jefferson City

Democrat: Chris Koster, Jefferson City; Margaret Donnelly, St. Louis; Jeff Harris, Columbia; Molly Williams, Kansas City

State Senate - District 19

Republican: Kurt Schaefer, Columbia

Democrat: Chuck Graham, Columbia; Elizabeth A. Allemann, Harrisburg

Libertarian: Christopher W. Dwyer, Hallsville

State Representative - District 9

Democrat: Paul Quinn, Monroe City

State Representative - District 21

Republican: Steve Hobbs, Mexico

Democrat: Kelly Schultz, Columbia

State Representative - District 23

Democrat: Cande Iveson, Columbia; Stephen Webber, Columbia

State Representative - District 24

Republican: Ed Robb, Columbia

Democrat: Chris Kelly, Columbia

State Representative - District 25

Republican: Ryan Asbridge, Columbia

Democrat: Sean Spence, Columbia; Mary Wynne Still, Columbia; Bob Pund, Columbia


U.S. Representative - District 9

Republican: Bob Onder, Lake St. Louis; Dan Bishir, St. Peters; Danielle (Danie) Moore, Fulton; Brock Olivo, Hermann; Blaine Luetkemeyer, St. Elizabeth

Democrat: Steve Gaw, Holts Summit; Judy Baker, Columbia; Lyndon Bode, Palmyra

Libertarian: Tamara A. Millay, St. Louis

Source: Missouri Secretary of State Web site

Like what you see here? Become a member.

Show Me the Errors (What's this?)

Report corrections or additions here. Leave comments below here.

You must be logged in to participate in the Show Me the Errors contest.


Leave a comment

Speak up and join the conversation! Make sure to follow the guidelines outlined below and register with our site. You must be logged in to comment. (Our full comment policy is here.)

  • Don't use obscene, profane or vulgar language.
  • Don't use language that makes personal attacks on fellow commenters or discriminates based on race, religion, gender or ethnicity.
  • Use your real first and last name when registering on the website. It will be published with every comment. (Read why we ask for that here.)
  • Don’t solicit or promote businesses.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through. If you see something objectionable, please click the "Report comment" link.

You must be logged in to comment.

Forget your password?

Don't have an account? Register here.