Boone County Ballot Roundup

Tuesday, April 8, 2008 | 11:31 p.m. CDT; updated 12:10 a.m. CDT, Tuesday, July 22, 2008

Here’s a look at the results of election races and issues in Boone County’s smaller towns, cities and school districts. All terms for municipal offices are two-year terms, and all school board positions are three-year terms unless otherwise indicated.


Board of Aldermen: Mike Asmus was elected mayor. Larry Reberry ran unopposed in Ward 1. Randy Wyatt ran unopposed for Ward 2, and Michael Jackson ran unopposed for Ward 3.

Southern Boone County R-1 School District

School board: Jesse “Jay” Richardson, Bridget Canaday and Edward Bartel won the three available seats.

Bond issue: Passed. The district asked for a $1.7 million bond issue to equip, construct, furnish and improve school facilities, including the construction of an addition to the elementary school to accommodate fifth-grade students. No tax increase required.


Board of Aldermen: Shelley (Tuggle) Becker was elected mayor. No candidate filed for Ward 1 alderman. Jason Ridgel won for Ward 2 alderman, and Jessica Orsini ran unopposed in Ward 3.

Centralia R-6 School District

School board: Justin Romine, Mary Peeper, Timothy Beard won the three available seats.


Board of Aldermen: Carl South was re-elected mayor. Incumbent Jane Alexander ran unopposed in Ward 1, and Jeff Leverenz was unopposed in Ward 2.

Hallsville R-4 School District

School board: Danny Hardin, John Berkbuegler and Mike Crabtree won the three available seats.


Board of Trustees: Pam Timmermann ran unopposed for her third term, and Reggie Wilhite ran unopposed for a second term. There were two available seats.

Harrisburg R-8 School District

School Board: Sean Cochran, Jeff Arp and Scott Eaton won the three available seats.


Town Board: Nancy Grant, Jeanette Crawford, Michael Rodemeyer and Douglas Lammers won the five available one-year terms.


Board of Trustees: Ed McGee, Dallas Lancaster and Dorthy Eberhart ran unopposed for three available positions.

Proposition 1: Passed a half-cent sales tax.

Proposition 2: Passed a 50-cent property tax levy.


Town Board: Marvin Sapp and Lucille Coleman ran unopposed for two available positions.


Board of Trustees: Burdette Frew, Ronald Skiles and Cheryl Haynie ran unopposed for three available positions.


Board of Aldermen: Joe Aguirre won in Ward 1. No candidate filed for an available seat in Ward 2.


Board of Aldermen: Andrew Perkins ran unopposed in Ward 1 West, and Kevin Abrahamson ran unopposed in Ward 2 East.

Sturgeon R-5 School District

School Board: Doug Bowne, Rhonda Jennings-Burks and Darrin Kelly won the three available seats.

Public Water Supply District 4

Don Bryson won for Subdistrict 5 director.

Like what you see here? Become a member.

Show Me the Errors (What's this?)

Report corrections or additions here. Leave comments below here.

You must be logged in to participate in the Show Me the Errors contest.


Leave a comment

Speak up and join the conversation! Make sure to follow the guidelines outlined below and register with our site. You must be logged in to comment. (Our full comment policy is here.)

  • Don't use obscene, profane or vulgar language.
  • Don't use language that makes personal attacks on fellow commenters or discriminates based on race, religion, gender or ethnicity.
  • Use your real first and last name when registering on the website. It will be published with every comment. (Read why we ask for that here.)
  • Don’t solicit or promote businesses.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through. If you see something objectionable, please click the "Report comment" link.

You must be logged in to comment.

Forget your password?

Don't have an account? Register here.