Priday, Crow on college baseball player of year watch list

Friday, April 25, 2008 | 7:39 p.m. CDT; updated 1:27 p.m. CDT, Tuesday, July 22, 2008

Senior designated hitter/outfielder Jacob Priday and junior starting pitcher Aaron Crow of the Missouri baseball team were named to the Dick Howser Trophy Watch List.

Going into Friday’s action at Texas A&M, Priday is leading the team in hitting with a .357 batting average and has 13 home runs, most in the Big 12. Crow leads the nation with nine wins, the Big 12 with 69 strikeouts and has a 2.37 ERA.

The Howser Trophy, created in 1987, is awarded to the college baseball player of the year and is presented by the National College Baseball Writers Association. 50 players were named to the Watch List. The award will be announced at the College World Series in Omaha on Saturday, June 14.

Previous Howser Trophy winners include current Major Leaguers Jason Varitek (1994, Georgia Tech), Todd Helton (1995, Tennessee), Kris Benson (1996, Clemson), J.D. Drew (1997, Florida State), Jason Jennings (1999, Baylor), Mark Teixeira (2000, Georgia Tech), Mark Prior (2001, USC), Khalil Greene (2002, Clemson), Rickie Weeks (2003, Southern), Jered Weaver (2004, Long Beach State) and Alex Gordon (2005, Nebraska).

Like what you see here? Become a member.

Show Me the Errors (What's this?)

Report corrections or additions here. Leave comments below here.

You must be logged in to participate in the Show Me the Errors contest.


Leave a comment

Speak up and join the conversation! Make sure to follow the guidelines outlined below and register with our site. You must be logged in to comment. (Our full comment policy is here.)

  • Don't use obscene, profane or vulgar language.
  • Don't use language that makes personal attacks on fellow commenters or discriminates based on race, religion, gender or ethnicity.
  • Use your real first and last name when registering on the website. It will be published with every comment. (Read why we ask for that here.)
  • Don’t solicit or promote businesses.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through. If you see something objectionable, please click the "Report comment" link.

You must be logged in to comment.

Forget your password?

Don't have an account? Register here.