MU graduation begins Friday

Wednesday, May 14, 2008 | 2:50 p.m. CDT; updated 2:49 p.m. CDT, Tuesday, July 22, 2008

COLUMBIA — MU graduation ceremonies will be held Friday through Sunday. MU plans to distribute 5,194 degrees to 4,774 graduates, according to the MU News Bureau.

Guest speakers include Ken Paulson, editor and senior vice president/news of USA Today and, and 9th District U.S. Congressman Kenny Hulshof.

MU Graduation Schedule

Friday 1 p.m. College of Veterinary Medicine Location: Jesse Auditorium Speaker: Col. Gary A. Vroegindewey, U.S. Army – Veterinary Corps 2 p.m. School of Journalism Location: Mizzou Arena Speaker: Ken Paulson, editor and senior vice president/news of USA Today and 4 p.m. Sinclair School of Nursing Location: Jesse Auditorium Speaker: Robyn Swoboda, bachelor of science in nursing candidate; Sarah Roffler, bachelor’s degree accelerated candidate; Sarah Muegge, registered nurse and master of science candidate 5 p.m. Trulaske College of Business and Public Administration Location: Hearnes Center Speaker: William Little, president of Quam-Nichols Company in Chicago, Ill. 6:30 p.m. College of Engineering Location: Jesse Auditorium Speaker: David Haffner, president and CEO of Leggett and Platt in Carthage 7:30 p.m. Graduate School Location: Mizzou Arena Speaker: Charles J. McClain, former president of Truman State University Saturday 9 a.m. Honors Convocation Location: Francis Quadrangle (Rain Site: Mizzou Arena) Speakers: Larry Smarr, honorary degree recipient and founder and first director of the National Center for Supercomputing Applications 12 p.m. School of Natural Resources Location: Jesse Auditorium Speaker: David Murphy, executive director, Conservation Federation of Missouri 1 p.m. College of Arts and Science Location: Hearnes Center Speaker: Claire McCaskill, U.S. Senator 2:30 p.m. School of Medicine Location: Jesse Auditorium Speaker: Jordan J. Cohen, president emeritus of the Association of American Medical Colleges, member of the National Academy of Sciences’ Institute of Medicine, and chair of the Arnold P. Gold Foundation 3:30 p.m. College of Education Location: Mizzou Arena Speakers: Jim Hinson, superintendent of the Independence School District and chair-elect of the MU Partnership for Educational Renewal Governing Board; John DeArman, president of the College of Education’s Mizzou Alumni Association Board; Whitney Schloss, president of the College of Education’s Student Council 6 p.m. College of Agriculture, Food and Natural Resources Location: Hearnes Center Speaker: Kenny Hulshof, 9th District U.S. Congressman 7 p.m. School of Heath Professions Location: Jesse Auditorium Speaker: Gordon Lamb, executive vice president, University of Missouri System 8 p.m. College of Human Environmental Sciences Location: Mizzou Arena Speaker: Jane Bierdeman-Fike, master of social work Sunday 1:30 p.m. School of Law Location: Jesse Auditorium Speaker: Patricia A. Breckinridge, judge, Supreme Court of Missouri 1:30 p.m. ROTC Commissioning Ceremony Department of Military Science/Aerospace Location: Mizzou Arena Speaker: Garrett Harencak, brigadier general and wing commander at Whiteman Air Force Base Source: MU News Bureau

Andrea Yee, a marketing student in the School of Business at MU is excited to be joining her fellow alumni.

“It’s been a great four years,” Yee said. “Some of the best experiences I’ve ever had have been at MU.”

During the 15 ceremonies, 3,724 students are expected to receive bachelor’s degrees, 897 are expected to receive master’s degrees, 558 are expected to receive doctoral degrees and 15 students are expected to receive educational specialist’s degrees, according to the MU News Bureau.

Like what you see here? Become a member.

Show Me the Errors (What's this?)

Report corrections or additions here. Leave comments below here.

You must be logged in to participate in the Show Me the Errors contest.


Leave a comment

Speak up and join the conversation! Make sure to follow the guidelines outlined below and register with our site. You must be logged in to comment. (Our full comment policy is here.)

  • Don't use obscene, profane or vulgar language.
  • Don't use language that makes personal attacks on fellow commenters or discriminates based on race, religion, gender or ethnicity.
  • Use your real first and last name when registering on the website. It will be published with every comment. (Read why we ask for that here.)
  • Don’t solicit or promote businesses.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through. If you see something objectionable, please click the "Report comment" link.

You must be logged in to comment.

Forget your password?

Don't have an account? Register here.