JEFFERSON CITY — Missouri consumers willing to put up with a noisy dishwasher or outdated refrigerator just a little longer should be able to get a tax break on a new appliance next spring.
Gov. Matt Blunt signed legislation Thursday creating a one-week state sales tax exemption on Energy Star-certified new appliances. The Show-Me Green Sales Tax Holiday will run from April 19 through April 25 each year.
The tax break will apply to the first $1,500 of select appliances — clothes washers and dryers, water heaters, trash compactors, dishwashers, conventional ovens, ranges, stoves, air conditioners, furnaces, refrigerators and freezers.
Blunt said Missouri is just the fourth state to enact such a tax break, following Connecticut, Florida and Virginia.
The new law “rewards Missouri families that make environmentally friendly choices that are good for energy efficiency and good for their family budget,” Blunt said in a statement announcing he had signed the legislation.
The new law also will allow income tax deductions of up to $1,000 for home energy audits and the implementation of their recommendations, beginning in 2009.
The measure will allow the treasurer’s office to provide state financing incentives to businesses producing and selling fuel or power from alternative energy sources such as the sun, wind or water.
It also requires the state to spend up to 10 percent of its annual maintenance funds for energy projects.
Sponsoring Sen. Kevin Engler, R-Farmington, had described his bill — which was a collection of proposals from various lawmakers — as a practical, first step toward encouraging energy efficiency.