Committee to inform voters on water bond

Thursday, September 25, 2008 | 7:05 p.m. CDT

COLUMBIA — Mayor Darwin Hindman announced Thursday the appointment of a citizens committee to inform voters of a $38.9 million water bond issue for the Nov. 4 election.

The bond would support an effort to make the city's water systems more reliable and improve the distribution system. Rates for city utility customers would increase incrementally during the process.

The committee is to be co-chaired by Kee Groshong and Mary Anne McCollum. Other members include Jeff McLellan, Tom Baumgardner, John Conway, Bill Costello, Ernie Gaeth, Shatenita Horton, Phebe LaMar, Ben Londeree, Jim Loveless, Teresa Maledy, Larry Moore, Tony Richards, Bob Roper, Cynthia Schreen, Valerie Shaw and Lili Vianello.

The committee will meet for the first time at 4 p.m. on Monday in the Landrum Room, First National Bank, 801 E. Broadway.

Voters approved the last water bond issue in 2003.

Like what you see here? Become a member.

Show Me the Errors (What's this?)

Report corrections or additions here. Leave comments below here.

You must be logged in to participate in the Show Me the Errors contest.


Leave a comment

Speak up and join the conversation! Make sure to follow the guidelines outlined below and register with our site. You must be logged in to comment. (Our full comment policy is here.)

  • Don't use obscene, profane or vulgar language.
  • Don't use language that makes personal attacks on fellow commenters or discriminates based on race, religion, gender or ethnicity.
  • Use your real first and last name when registering on the website. It will be published with every comment. (Read why we ask for that here.)
  • Don’t solicit or promote businesses.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through. If you see something objectionable, please click the "Report comment" link.

You must be logged in to comment.

Forget your password?

Don't have an account? Register here.