Four MU football players named various award semifinalists

Wednesday, November 5, 2008 | 9:08 p.m. CST; updated 11:12 p.m. CST, Wednesday, November 5, 2008

COLUMBIA — Four MU football players have been named semifinalists for different national awards.

Chase Daniel and Jeremy Maclin are among 15 semifinalists for the Maxwell Award for the College Player of the Year. Daniel is also a finalist for the Lowe's Senior Class Award, which honors the nation's top senior who excels in the classroom, on the field and in the community.

Saturday's game

Kansas State (4-5, 1-4 )

at No. 13 Missouri (7-2, 3-2)

WHEN: 6 p.m.

WHERE: Memorial Stadium




Related Links

Sean Weatherspoon was named a finalist for the Chuck Bednarik Award and the Lott Trophy. The Bednarik Award recognizes the nation's most outstanding defensive player. The Lott Trophy was established by The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation. It recognizes college football's defensive player of the year who best exemplifies integrity, maturity, performance, academics, community and tenacity.

William Moore was named as one of 13 semifinalists for the Jim Thorpe Award, which goes to the top defensive back in the nation.


Like what you see here? Become a member.

Show Me the Errors (What's this?)

Report corrections or additions here. Leave comments below here.

You must be logged in to participate in the Show Me the Errors contest.


Leave a comment

Speak up and join the conversation! Make sure to follow the guidelines outlined below and register with our site. You must be logged in to comment. (Our full comment policy is here.)

  • Don't use obscene, profane or vulgar language.
  • Don't use language that makes personal attacks on fellow commenters or discriminates based on race, religion, gender or ethnicity.
  • Use your real first and last name when registering on the website. It will be published with every comment. (Read why we ask for that here.)
  • Don’t solicit or promote businesses.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through. If you see something objectionable, please click the "Report comment" link.

You must be logged in to comment.

Forget your password?

Don't have an account? Register here.