Columbia College, Stephens players gather awards

Tuesday, March 10, 2009 | 1:00 a.m. CDT

COLUMBIA — Several women's basketball players from Columbia College and Stephens College were named the All-American Midwest Conference team.

Columbia College's Whitney Davis, a junior guard, and Rachel Oswald, a junior forward, were named to AMC first team.

The Cougars' Whitney Widaman, another junior guard, earned honorable mention honor along with Megan Sheffield, a freshman forward at Stephens College.

Columbia College had four players on the all-conference academic team, including Davis, Fiona Sparks, Nacy Thornsberry and Julie Teeple.

Ten Stephens College players were named to the all-conference academic team including Sheffield, Haley Caldwell, Stephanie Dippold, Rachel Henderson, Vanessa Koonce, Tia LaFavor, Casey Martin, Kerri Shanks, Jessica Stanley and Andie Young.

Like what you see here? Become a member.

Show Me the Errors (What's this?)

Report corrections or additions here. Leave comments below here.

You must be logged in to participate in the Show Me the Errors contest.


Leave a comment

Speak up and join the conversation! Make sure to follow the guidelines outlined below and register with our site. You must be logged in to comment. (Our full comment policy is here.)

  • Don't use obscene, profane or vulgar language.
  • Don't use language that makes personal attacks on fellow commenters or discriminates based on race, religion, gender or ethnicity.
  • Use your real first and last name when registering on the website. It will be published with every comment. (Read why we ask for that here.)
  • Don’t solicit or promote businesses.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through. If you see something objectionable, please click the "Report comment" link.

You must be logged in to comment.

Forget your password?

Don't have an account? Register here.