Senior forwards share most outstanding honor at awards banquet for Missouri men's basketball team

Monday, April 13, 2009 | 10:39 p.m. CDT; updated 12:18 a.m. CDT, Tuesday, April 14, 2009

COLUMBIA — Senior forwards DeMarre Carroll and Leo Lyons shared the Most Outstanding Player Award given out Monday night at the Missouri men’s basketball team's awards banquet.

The Tigers’ two leading scorers were the team’s most consistent leaders all season, and both of them scored at least 10 points in all but four games. Carroll, a All-Big 12 Conference selection and honorable mention All American, led the team with 16.6 points and 7.2 rebounds per game. Lyons was second in both categories, with 14.6 points and 6.1 rebounds per game.

Eight other players were honored at the annual banquet at Mizzou Arena. The Tigers’ depth was often cited as a key factor in the Tigers’ school-record 31-win season that ended with a loss to Connecticut in the Elite Eight.

Other awards given out were:

Defensive Player of the Year — J.T. Tiller

Most Improved Player — Matt Lawrence and Justin Safford

Chairman of the Boards for leading the team in rebounding — DeMarre Carroll

Tiger Assist Award for leading the team in assists — J.T. Tiller

Tiger Pride Award for leading the team in minutes played — DeMarre Carroll

Tiger Pride Award for leading the team in blocked shots — Keith Ramsey

Tiger Pride Award for leading the team in charges taken — Zaire Taylor

Tiger Free-Throw Award for leading the team in free-throw attempts — Leo Lyons
Tiger Free-Throw Award for leading the team in free-throw percentage — Marcus Denmon

Tiger Hustle Award for playing with great intensity — J.T. Tiller

Iron Tiger Award for outstanding effort and performance in strength training — Matt Lawrence
Tiger Service Award for commitment to community service – Kim English and Zaire Taylor  
Tiger Coaches Award for commitment to attaining team goals — Mike Anderson, Jr.

Like what you see here? Become a member.

Show Me the Errors (What's this?)

Report corrections or additions here. Leave comments below here.

You must be logged in to participate in the Show Me the Errors contest.


Leave a comment

Speak up and join the conversation! Make sure to follow the guidelines outlined below and register with our site. You must be logged in to comment. (Our full comment policy is here.)

  • Don't use obscene, profane or vulgar language.
  • Don't use language that makes personal attacks on fellow commenters or discriminates based on race, religion, gender or ethnicity.
  • Use your real first and last name when registering on the website. It will be published with every comment. (Read why we ask for that here.)
  • Don’t solicit or promote businesses.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through. If you see something objectionable, please click the "Report comment" link.

You must be logged in to comment.

Forget your password?

Don't have an account? Register here.