Five chosen for Missouri press hall of fame

Friday, June 26, 2009 | 3:07 p.m. CDT; updated 3:28 p.m. CDT, Friday, June 26, 2009

COLUMBIA — Five Missouri journalists are being inducted into the Missouri Newspaper Hall of Fame.

The members of the Hall's 19th class include the late Lucile Bluford, former publisher of The Kansas City Call; the late David R. Bradley Sr., former publisher of the St. Joseph News-Press & Gazette Co.; Frank L. Martin III, publisher of the West Plains Daily Quill; the late W. Ray Vickery, former publisher of The Salem News; and Brian Brooks, associate dean at the MU School of Journalism.

The induction ceremony will be held Oct. 16 in Kansas City during the Missouri Press Association's 143rd annual convention.



Like what you see here? Become a member.

Show Me the Errors (What's this?)

Report corrections or additions here. Leave comments below here.

You must be logged in to participate in the Show Me the Errors contest.


Leave a comment

Speak up and join the conversation! Make sure to follow the guidelines outlined below and register with our site. You must be logged in to comment. (Our full comment policy is here.)

  • Don't use obscene, profane or vulgar language.
  • Don't use language that makes personal attacks on fellow commenters or discriminates based on race, religion, gender or ethnicity.
  • Use your real first and last name when registering on the website. It will be published with every comment. (Read why we ask for that here.)
  • Don’t solicit or promote businesses.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through. If you see something objectionable, please click the "Report comment" link.

You must be logged in to comment.

Forget your password?

Don't have an account? Register here.