Missouri senators picked for special energy committee

Wednesday, August 12, 2009 | 11:12 a.m. CDT

JEFFERSON CITY — Five members of the Missouri Senate have been appointed to a special committee on state energy policy.

The panel will also have members appointed from the state House.

The committee is responsible for drafting a long-term strategy that helps ensure Missouri has a clean, abundant energy source that meets the electricity needs of homes and businesses. The panel has until the end of this year to file a report.

The Senate appointees were chosen by President Pro Tem Charlie Shields. His Republican choices are Brad Lager, of Savannah; Rob Mayer, of Dexter; and Kurt Schaefer, of Columbia. Shields' Democratic appointees are Tim Green, of St. Louis, and Jolie Justus of Kansas City.

Like what you see here? Become a member.

Show Me the Errors (What's this?)

Report corrections or additions here. Leave comments below here.

You must be logged in to participate in the Show Me the Errors contest.


Leave a comment

Speak up and join the conversation! Make sure to follow the guidelines outlined below and register with our site. You must be logged in to comment. (Our full comment policy is here.)

  • Don't use obscene, profane or vulgar language.
  • Don't use language that makes personal attacks on fellow commenters or discriminates based on race, religion, gender or ethnicity.
  • Use your real first and last name when registering on the website. It will be published with every comment. (Read why we ask for that here.)
  • Don’t solicit or promote businesses.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through. If you see something objectionable, please click the "Report comment" link.

You must be logged in to comment.

Forget your password?

Don't have an account? Register here.