Missouri women's soccer players earn Big 12 All-Academic honors

Tuesday, November 3, 2009 | 6:20 p.m. CST; updated 9:01 p.m. CST, Tuesday, November 3, 2009

COLUMBIA — Ten Missouri women soccer players were awarded Big 12 Conference All-Academic Team honors Tuesday.

Seniors Bree Thorton, Crystal Wagner and Meghan Pfeiffer, junior Alysha Bonnick and sophomores Kelsey Blincow, Kendra Collins and Jessie Crabtree earned first team accolades, while senior Michelle Collins and sophomores Brittany Hopkins and Mallory Stipetich earned second team honors. 

Thorton was the only Tiger and one of only 11 players in the Big 12 with a 4.0 grade point average. It is Thorton's second straight year on the first team. Wagner and Pfeiffer made the first team for the first time after being on the second team the past two years.  Michelle Collins made the second team for the second year in a row.

Like what you see here? Become a member.

Show Me the Errors (What's this?)

Report corrections or additions here. Leave comments below here.

You must be logged in to participate in the Show Me the Errors contest.


Leave a comment

Speak up and join the conversation! Make sure to follow the guidelines outlined below and register with our site. You must be logged in to comment. (Our full comment policy is here.)

  • Don't use obscene, profane or vulgar language.
  • Don't use language that makes personal attacks on fellow commenters or discriminates based on race, religion, gender or ethnicity.
  • Use your real first and last name when registering on the website. It will be published with every comment. (Read why we ask for that here.)
  • Don’t solicit or promote businesses.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through. If you see something objectionable, please click the "Report comment" link.

You must be logged in to comment.

Forget your password?

Don't have an account? Register here.