7 emergency responders given Missouri Medal of Valor

Thursday, November 19, 2009 | 4:12 p.m. CST

JEFFERSON CITY — Seven emergency responders have been given the Missouri Medal of Valor for savings lives in 2008.

Democratic Gov. Jay Nixon presented the medals Thursday during a ceremony in the state Capitol. A special committee selects up to seven recipients each year.

Emergency responders rescued motorists trapped in burning vehicles, ended a gun fight, saved someone caught in a fire and brought someone out of a burning home.

This year's recipients are emergency medical technician Robert Bellefy of Belton Emergency Services, Fulton firefighters Daniel Berry and Todd Gray and Pulaski County Sheriff Deputy Donald Hayden. Missouri State Highway Patrol troopers Shawn Dougherty from Carter County, Dale Jinkens from the Kansas City area and Andrew Ward from Butler County also received the medal.


Like what you see here? Become a member.

Show Me the Errors (What's this?)

Report corrections or additions here. Leave comments below here.

You must be logged in to participate in the Show Me the Errors contest.


Leave a comment

Speak up and join the conversation! Make sure to follow the guidelines outlined below and register with our site. You must be logged in to comment. (Our full comment policy is here.)

  • Don't use obscene, profane or vulgar language.
  • Don't use language that makes personal attacks on fellow commenters or discriminates based on race, religion, gender or ethnicity.
  • Use your real first and last name when registering on the website. It will be published with every comment. (Read why we ask for that here.)
  • Don’t solicit or promote businesses.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through. If you see something objectionable, please click the "Report comment" link.

You must be logged in to comment.

Forget your password?

Don't have an account? Register here.