Two new lawmakers sworn into Missouri House

Wednesday, February 17, 2010 | 11:52 a.m. CST

JEFFERSON CITY — The Missouri House has two new members.

Democrats Hope Whitehead of St. Louis and Pat Conway of St. Joseph were sworn into office Wednesday. They both won special elections earlier this month.

Whitehead replaces Democrat Talibden El-Amin, who resigned after pleading guilty to a federal bribery charge.

Conway replaces Democrat Ed Wildberger, who left the House to accept appointment as Buchanan County record of deeds.

The addition of the two lawmakers means Republicans now have an 88-74 majority in the House with one vacancy.

That empty seat likely will remain. Gov. Jay Nixon has not called a special election to replace Republican Bryan Yates of Lee's Summit, who resigned last December to take a new private sector job.

Like what you see here? Become a member.

Show Me the Errors (What's this?)

Report corrections or additions here. Leave comments below here.

You must be logged in to participate in the Show Me the Errors contest.


Leave a comment

Speak up and join the conversation! Make sure to follow the guidelines outlined below and register with our site. You must be logged in to comment. (Our full comment policy is here.)

  • Don't use obscene, profane or vulgar language.
  • Don't use language that makes personal attacks on fellow commenters or discriminates based on race, religion, gender or ethnicity.
  • Use your real first and last name when registering on the website. It will be published with every comment. (Read why we ask for that here.)
  • Don’t solicit or promote businesses.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through. If you see something objectionable, please click the "Report comment" link.

You must be logged in to comment.

Forget your password?

Don't have an account? Register here.