Ceremony honors UM faculty and students

Thursday, June 10, 2010 | 6:15 p.m. CDT; updated 8:58 p.m. CDT, Thursday, June 10, 2010

COLUMBIA — Two MU faculty members were honored at a University of Missouri System awards ceremony Thursday at the Reynolds Alumni Center.

UM system president Gary Forsee; his wife, Sherry; and the UM system Board of Curators hosted the ceremony.

The following MU faculty members were honored:

Steve Weinberg

Weinberg, a journalism professor at MU, received the Curators' Award for Scholarly Excellence for his book, "A Journalism of Humanity: A Candid History of the World's First Journalism School." The award is given to the faculty member who authors the most outstanding book published by the University of Missouri Press.

Weinberg earned both his bachelor's and master's degrees from MU. He has worked in newspaper, magazine and book writing, and his teaching experience includes a class on covering the criminal justice system.

Peter Sutovsky

Sutovsky received the Faculty Entrepreneur of the Year Award, which is awarded to a faculty member for entrepreneurial innovation that can be used commercially, contributes to the public welfare and brings visibility to the university.

Sutovsky is an associate professor in the College of Agriculture, Food and Natural Resources and a leading scientist in sperm cellular and molecular physiology. He is working with fellow researchers to market a device that would allow semen to be detected within minutes in rape kits.

The other award recipients from UM campuses include:

  • Richard K. Brow, Missouri University of Science and Technology, Presidential Award for Research and Creativity
  • Frances "Dee" Haemmerlie Montgomery, Missouri University of Science of Technology, Presidential Award for Outstanding Teaching
  • A. Curtis Elmore, Missouri University of Science and Technology, C. Brice Ratchford Memorial Fellowship Award
  • Michael Orlando Jr., Colby Hall and RJ Miller, 2009 graduates of Missouri University of Science and Technology, Student Entrepreneur of the Year Awards

Like what you see here? Become a member.

Show Me the Errors (What's this?)

Report corrections or additions here. Leave comments below here.

You must be logged in to participate in the Show Me the Errors contest.


Leave a comment

Speak up and join the conversation! Make sure to follow the guidelines outlined below and register with our site. You must be logged in to comment. (Our full comment policy is here.)

  • Don't use obscene, profane or vulgar language.
  • Don't use language that makes personal attacks on fellow commenters or discriminates based on race, religion, gender or ethnicity.
  • Use your real first and last name when registering on the website. It will be published with every comment. (Read why we ask for that here.)
  • Don’t solicit or promote businesses.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through. If you see something objectionable, please click the "Report comment" link.

You must be logged in to comment.

Forget your password?

Don't have an account? Register here.