Nixon creates commission to review Missouri tax credits

Wednesday, July 21, 2010 | 5:53 p.m. CDT

JEFFERSON CITY — Gov. Jay Nixon has appointed a committee of 25 people to review Missouri's 61 tax credit programs.

Nixon's office said Wednesday that the Tax Credit Review Commission will recommend ways for tax credits to meet their goals more effectively and generate a better return on investment for taxpayers.

Earlier this year, Nixon proposed to scale back and consolidate Missouri's tax credits as a way to save money. But that plan did not pass the legislature. Since then, Nixon's administration has slowed down the application process for tax credits.

The new commission is co-chaired by developer Steve Stogel, president of DFC Group in St. Louis, and Chuck Gross, a former Republican state senator who now is the director of administration for St. Charles County.

Others named to the commission are:

Sen. Matt Bartle, R-Lee's Summit; Sen. Jolie Justus, D-Kansas City; Sen. Robin Wright-Jones, D-St. Louis; Rep. Tim Flook, R-Liberty; Rep. Sam Komo, D-House Springs;

Zack Boyers of U.S. Bancorp Community Development Corporation in St. Louis; Mark Gardner of Gardner Capital in Springfield; Luana Gifford of the American Federation of Teachers in Jefferson City; Bill Hall of Hallmark in Kansas City; Dee Joyner of Commerce Bank in St. Louis; David Kendrick of the Kansas City Building and Construction Trades Council;

Alan Marble, President of Crowder College in Neosho; Troy Nash of Zimmer Real Estate Services in Kansas City; Melissa Randol of the Missouri School Boards' Association in Jefferson City; Tom Reeves of Pulaski Bank in St. Louis; Penney Rector of the Missouri Association of School Administrators in Jefferson City;

Russ Still, a member of the State Board of Education from Columbia; Craig Van Matre, a member of the Coordinating Board for Higher Education from Columbia; Ray Wagner of Enterprise Rent-A-Car in St. Louis; Todd Weaver of Legacy Building Group in St. Louis; Shannon Weber of the Carpenters' District Council of Greater St. Louis and Vicinity; Mike Wood of the Missouri State Teachers Association in Jefferson City; and David Zimmerman of the Sheet Metal Workers International Association, Local 36 in St. Louis.

Like what you see here? Become a member.

Show Me the Errors (What's this?)

Report corrections or additions here. Leave comments below here.

You must be logged in to participate in the Show Me the Errors contest.


Leave a comment

Speak up and join the conversation! Make sure to follow the guidelines outlined below and register with our site. You must be logged in to comment. (Our full comment policy is here.)

  • Don't use obscene, profane or vulgar language.
  • Don't use language that makes personal attacks on fellow commenters or discriminates based on race, religion, gender or ethnicity.
  • Use your real first and last name when registering on the website. It will be published with every comment. (Read why we ask for that here.)
  • Don’t solicit or promote businesses.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through. If you see something objectionable, please click the "Report comment" link.

You must be logged in to comment.

Forget your password?

Don't have an account? Register here.