6 Missouri educators vie for top teaching honor

Tuesday, August 24, 2010 | 7:16 a.m. CDT

JEFFERSON CITY — Six educators from around the state are finalists for Missouri Teacher of the Year.

The finalists were announced last week. They are Robert Becker of the Kirkwood School District, Rebecca Gooding of the Raymore-Peculiar School District, Doug Logan of the Carl Junction School District, Abby Lowe of the Springfield School District, Lori Mathys of the Rockwood School District and Lori Merrigan of the Lee's Summit School District.

A selection committee will interview the finalists Aug. 30 in Jefferson City and choose the Missouri Teacher of the Year. The winner will become the state's nominee for the National Teacher of the Year program.

The Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education says 47 districts from across the state submitted nominations.


Like what you see here? Become a member.

Show Me the Errors (What's this?)

Report corrections or additions here. Leave comments below here.

You must be logged in to participate in the Show Me the Errors contest.


Leave a comment

Speak up and join the conversation! Make sure to follow the guidelines outlined below and register with our site. You must be logged in to comment. (Our full comment policy is here.)

  • Don't use obscene, profane or vulgar language.
  • Don't use language that makes personal attacks on fellow commenters or discriminates based on race, religion, gender or ethnicity.
  • Use your real first and last name when registering on the website. It will be published with every comment. (Read why we ask for that here.)
  • Don’t solicit or promote businesses.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through. If you see something objectionable, please click the "Report comment" link.

You must be logged in to comment.

Forget your password?

Don't have an account? Register here.