Seven more Missouri counties to get federal disaster help

Thursday, August 26, 2010 | 8:24 p.m. CDT

JEFFERSON CITY — Seven more Missouri counties will get federal assistance recovering from summer floods and severe storms.

Gov. Jay Nixon said in a news release that the federal government granted the request Thursday.

Twenty-nine counties, mostly in northern Missouri, were included in the initial disaster declaration. The newly added counties, all in northeast and north-central Missouri, are Knox, Linn, Marion, Monroe, Pike, Ralls and Shelby.

Nixon says the expanded declaration will help speed up recovery by letting more counties and local governments get help recovering costs.

The declaration lets local governments be reimbursed for part of the cost of responding to the storms and repairing the damage.


Like what you see here? Become a member.

Show Me the Errors (What's this?)

Report corrections or additions here. Leave comments below here.

You must be logged in to participate in the Show Me the Errors contest.


Leave a comment

Speak up and join the conversation! Make sure to follow the guidelines outlined below and register with our site. You must be logged in to comment. (Our full comment policy is here.)

  • Don't use obscene, profane or vulgar language.
  • Don't use language that makes personal attacks on fellow commenters or discriminates based on race, religion, gender or ethnicity.
  • Use your real first and last name when registering on the website. It will be published with every comment. (Read why we ask for that here.)
  • Don’t solicit or promote businesses.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through. If you see something objectionable, please click the "Report comment" link.

You must be logged in to comment.

Forget your password?

Don't have an account? Register here.