Nixon expects Missouri tax credit review by Thanksgiving

Wednesday, September 8, 2010 | 11:21 a.m. CDT; updated 12:02 p.m. CDT, Wednesday, September 8, 2010

JEFFERSON CITY— Gov. Jay Nixon has given a special commission two months to review Missouri's tax credits and recommend which can be eliminated or scaled back.

The 25-member Tax Credit Review Commission appointed by Nixon kicked off its work Wednesday in Jefferson City. It plans five regional meetings in coming months.

Nixon set a Thanksgiving deadline for the group to analyze which tax breaks create jobs, spur economic development and improve communities.

Missouri is projected to grant almost $500 million in tax credits this year, and Nixon projects a budget shortfall of more than $400 million next year.

Lawmakers placed caps on some tax credits in 2009. But they were unable to agree this year on further restrictions.


Who's on the commission

  • Steve Stogel (co-chair), president of DFC Group, St. Louis
  • Chuck Gross (co-chair), director of administration for St. Charles County
  • State senators Matt Bartle, R-Lee’s Summit, Jolie Justus, D-Kansas City, and Robin Wright-Jones, D-St. Louis
  • State representatives Tim Flook, R-Liberty, and Sam Komo, D-House Springs
  • Zack Boyers, U.S. Bancorp Community Development Corporation, St. Louis
  • Mark Gardner, Gardner Capital, Springfield
  • Luana Gifford, American Federation of Teachers, Jefferson City
  • Bill Hall, Hallmark, Kansas City
  • Dee Joyner, Commerce Bank, St. Louis
  • David Kendrick, Kansas City Building and Construction Trades Council
  • Alan Marble, president of Crowder College, Neosho
  • Troy Nash, Zimmer Real Estate Services, Kansas City
  • Melissa Randol, Missouri School Boards Association, Jefferson City
  • Tom Reeves, Pulaski Bank, St. Louis
  • Penney Rector, Missouri Association of School Administrators, Jefferson City
  • Russ Still, member of the State Board of Education from Columbia
  • Craig Van Matre, member of the Coordinating Board for Higher Education from Columbia
  • Ray Wagner, Enterprise Rent-A-Car, St. Louis
  • Todd Weaver, Legacy Building Group, St. Louis
  • Shannon Weber, Carpenters’ District Council of Greater St. Louis and Vicinity
  • Mike Wood, Missouri State Teachers Association in Jefferson City
  • David Zimmerman, Sheet Metal Workers International Association, Local 36, St. Louis

Source: Governor’s office

Related Articles

Like what you see here? Become a member.

Show Me the Errors (What's this?)

Report corrections or additions here. Leave comments below here.

You must be logged in to participate in the Show Me the Errors contest.


Leave a comment

Speak up and join the conversation! Make sure to follow the guidelines outlined below and register with our site. You must be logged in to comment. (Our full comment policy is here.)

  • Don't use obscene, profane or vulgar language.
  • Don't use language that makes personal attacks on fellow commenters or discriminates based on race, religion, gender or ethnicity.
  • Use your real first and last name when registering on the website. It will be published with every comment. (Read why we ask for that here.)
  • Don’t solicit or promote businesses.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through. If you see something objectionable, please click the "Report comment" link.

You must be logged in to comment.

Forget your password?

Don't have an account? Register here.