Missouri Journalism School honors foreign free press groups

Thursday, October 28, 2010 | 8:40 a.m. CDT; updated 11:23 p.m. CDT, Thursday, October 28, 2010

COLUMBIA — Two international press freedom groups and six media leaders will receive the Missouri Honor Medal for Distinguished Service in Journalism.

Medalists are selected by faculty of the Missouri School of Journalism. The winners are scheduled to lecture at MU Thursday before receiving the awards at an evening ceremony.

Lectures are free and open to the public. A live stream of the lectures also is available.

The 2010 medalists are the Foundation for the Freedom of the Press in Bogota, Colombia; ZETA Weekly newspaper in Tijuana, Mexico; James Balog, founder and director, Extreme Ice Survey and Earth Vision Trust; Cathleen Black, chairman, Hearst Magazines; wine columnist and author Dorothy Gaiter; financial journalist Myron Kandel, a former New York Times reporter and CNN editor; newspaper editor Sandy Rowe, who led The Oregonian in Portland to five Pulitzer Prizes; and advertising executive Larry Postaer.


Like what you see here? Become a member.

Show Me the Errors (What's this?)

Report corrections or additions here. Leave comments below here.

You must be logged in to participate in the Show Me the Errors contest.


Leave a comment

Speak up and join the conversation! Make sure to follow the guidelines outlined below and register with our site. You must be logged in to comment. (Our full comment policy is here.)

  • Don't use obscene, profane or vulgar language.
  • Don't use language that makes personal attacks on fellow commenters or discriminates based on race, religion, gender or ethnicity.
  • Use your real first and last name when registering on the website. It will be published with every comment. (Read why we ask for that here.)
  • Don’t solicit or promote businesses.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through. If you see something objectionable, please click the "Report comment" link.

You must be logged in to comment.

Forget your password?

Don't have an account? Register here.