Molina snags his third-straight Gold Glove

Wednesday, November 10, 2010 | 7:08 p.m. CST; updated 7:22 p.m. CST, Wednesday, November 10, 2010

ST. LOUIS — While players such as Albert Pujols and Matt Holliday grab the headlines, St. Louis Cardinals catcher Yadier Molina slips under the radar.

But his efforts behind the plate aren't lost on managers and coaches in the league. Molina garnered his third Gold Glove in a row on Wednesday.

Molina, who threw out 44 percent of opposing base-stealers, joined Mike Matheny (2000, 2003-04) and Tom Pagnozzi (1991-92, 1994) as Cardinals catchers to win three times.

Pujols, a first baseman who won for the second time in his career, was also among the National League recipients announced by Rawlings. Pujols' last Gold Glove came in 2006.

Former Cardinal Scott Rolen, who is now a third baseman for Cincinnati, won his eighth Gold Glove. He was one of three Reds players to be honored following the team's first playoff appearance in 15 years. Second baseman Brandon Phillips and pitcher Bronson Arroyo also won Gold Gloves.

It's the first time Cincinnati has had more than one winner in a season since the days of the Big Red Machine, when catcher Johnny Bench, second baseman Joe Morgan, shortstop Dave Concepcion and center fielder Cesar Geronimo won four straight years from 1974-77.

Rolen won his last Gold Glove in 2006, when he was with the Cardinals. He was a four-time winner of the award with the Cardinals, including the 2002-05 seasons. Rolen's eight Gold Gloves rank third at his position behind Hall of Famers Brooks Robinson (16) and Mike Schmidt (10). 

On a conference call with all three Reds winners, the 35-year-old Rolen joked that he and general manager Walt Jocketty had already discussed a six-to-eight-year contract extension for "unlimited dollars" so he could chase Schmidt and Robinson.

"I think Mike Schmidt was the best third baseman to ever play the game," Rolen said. "To be with those guys obviously is an amazing compliment."

Rawlings has awarded Gold Gloves since 1957. Managers and coaches vote for players in their leagues before the end of the regular season, but they can't choose members of their own teams.

Like what you see here? Become a member.

Show Me the Errors (What's this?)

Report corrections or additions here. Leave comments below here.

You must be logged in to participate in the Show Me the Errors contest.


Leave a comment

Speak up and join the conversation! Make sure to follow the guidelines outlined below and register with our site. You must be logged in to comment. (Our full comment policy is here.)

  • Don't use obscene, profane or vulgar language.
  • Don't use language that makes personal attacks on fellow commenters or discriminates based on race, religion, gender or ethnicity.
  • Use your real first and last name when registering on the website. It will be published with every comment. (Read why we ask for that here.)
  • Don’t solicit or promote businesses.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through. If you see something objectionable, please click the "Report comment" link.

You must be logged in to comment.

Forget your password?

Don't have an account? Register here.