7 officers awarded Missouri Medal of Valor

Thursday, November 18, 2010 | 7:00 a.m. CST; updated 9:59 a.m. CST, Thursday, November 18, 2010

 JEFFERSON CITY— Gov. Jay Nixon has awarded the Missouri Medal of Valor to seven public safety officers for actions taken last year. It is the highest law-enforcement honor in the state.

The recipients are:

  • George Ball of the Dent County Sheriff's Office and Steve Lawhead of the Fort Leonard Wood Police Department. They pulled to safety a woman and dog who had fallen through ice on a lake.
  • Cody Dunfee of the Highway Patrol. Dunfee guided other officers to safety even though he had been shot while attempting to arrest a man wanted for murder.
  • Larry Ellard of the Warrenton Police Department, who rescued a suicidal man from the edge of a highway overpass.
  • Chris Harris of the Highway Patrol, who stopped an armed motorcyclist in a high-speed chase east of Jefferson City.
  • Isabella Lovadina of the St. Louis Metropolitan Police Department. She was shot several times while struggling with a gunman during a robbery.
  • Timmy Shoop of the Highway Patrol. He swam underwater to pull a man from a submerged vehicle in the Middle Fork branch of the Chariton River.


Like what you see here? Become a member.

Show Me the Errors (What's this?)

Report corrections or additions here. Leave comments below here.

You must be logged in to participate in the Show Me the Errors contest.


Leave a comment

Speak up and join the conversation! Make sure to follow the guidelines outlined below and register with our site. You must be logged in to comment. (Our full comment policy is here.)

  • Don't use obscene, profane or vulgar language.
  • Don't use language that makes personal attacks on fellow commenters or discriminates based on race, religion, gender or ethnicity.
  • Use your real first and last name when registering on the website. It will be published with every comment. (Read why we ask for that here.)
  • Don’t solicit or promote businesses.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through. If you see something objectionable, please click the "Report comment" link.

You must be logged in to comment.

Forget your password?

Don't have an account? Register here.