Former Missouri tight end Chase Coffman makes all-time Big 12 team

Wednesday, November 24, 2010 | 11:47 a.m. CST; updated 2:09 p.m. CST, Wednesday, November 24, 2010
Missouri tight end Chase Coffman leaps over a player in the first quarter of the SEMO game in October of 2008.

IRVING, Texas — Former Missouri tight end Chase Coffman has one more accolade to add to his college playing days: selection to The Associated Press’ all-time all-Big 12 team.

Coffman received eight of 20 votes, edging out Colorado’s Daniel Graham, who received seven.

Leading the all-time team are former Texas quarterback Vince Young, former Nebraska defensive tackle Ndamukong Suh and Oklahoma coach Bob Stoops.

With the original conference lineup going into its final weeks, the AP asked voters for this year’s all-conference squad to pick a team based on the league’s entire run. Voters were asked to take into account a player's entire tenure in the Big 12 and not to factor in whether the player became a star or a bust as a pro.

Suh and Young were chosen the top players on each side of the ball. Suh and Stoops were runaway winners in the voting by 20 writers from newspapers across the seven states.

Young was a narrow choice over another Longhorns star, running back Ricky Williams. Of the 26 position players chosen, Suh and Williams were the only unanimous picks.

Four players were named on all but one ballot: Texas Tech receiver Michael Crabtree, Texas linebacker Derrick Johnson, Texas A&M linebacker Dat Nguyen and Oklahoma safety Roy Williams.

Considering that Oklahoma has won seven of the 14 Big 12 South titles already settled, and could grab another this season, it’s no surprise the Sooners dominate the list. Oklahoma led the way with seven honorees, five on defense.

Texas had six players honored, three on each side of the ball. Nebraska had four, two on each side.

Oklahoma State and Kansas State each had two players chosen.

There was one each from Missouri, Baylor, Texas Tech and Colorado. Kansas and Iowa State didn’t have any selections.

The Big 12 began in 1996, created by a merger of the Big Eight and the Southwest Conference. A conference team has played in seven BCS national championship games and four players have brought home the Heisman.

But after this year, Nebraska and Colorado are leaving for other conferences and the remaining 10 schools have decided to scrap their two-division, championship-game format and play each other every year. So this seemed like the perfect time for a nostalgic comparison of the top players — and to appreciate how tough some of the choices were, consider the players who did NOT make it.

Nebraska’s Eric Crouch won a Heisman Trophy and Oklahoma’s Jason White won a Heisman Trophy and a national championship, yet neither got a single vote. Neither did any of Texas Tech’s record-setting quarterbacks or Kansas State’s electrifying Michael Bishop. There was hardly any support for Sam Bradford, another Heisman winner who played for a national championship, or Colt McCoy, who won more games than any quarterback in major-college history and led the Longhorns to the national championship game last season.

Other Missouri players receiving votes were centers Rob Riti and Adam Spieker, one vote each; wide receiver Jeremy Maclin, five votes for wide receiver, one vote for all-purpose; quarterback Brad Smith, two votes for all-purpose; kicker Jeff Wolfert, two votes; defensive linemen Justin Smith, two votes, and Brian Smith, one vote; and linebacker Sean Weatherspoon, two votes.

Fans might claim a bias for or against teams in the North or South, but there were 10 voters from each division. As for the notion of votes being slanted toward older or newer eras, just look at the two unanimous picks — Williams played from 1995 to 1998 and Suh from 2006 to 2009. Williams was the first AP Big 12 offensive player of the year, Suh the most recent defensive player of the year.

Like what you see here? Become a member.

Show Me the Errors (What's this?)

Report corrections or additions here. Leave comments below here.

You must be logged in to participate in the Show Me the Errors contest.


Leave a comment

Speak up and join the conversation! Make sure to follow the guidelines outlined below and register with our site. You must be logged in to comment. (Our full comment policy is here.)

  • Don't use obscene, profane or vulgar language.
  • Don't use language that makes personal attacks on fellow commenters or discriminates based on race, religion, gender or ethnicity.
  • Use your real first and last name when registering on the website. It will be published with every comment. (Read why we ask for that here.)
  • Don’t solicit or promote businesses.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through. If you see something objectionable, please click the "Report comment" link.

You must be logged in to comment.

Forget your password?

Don't have an account? Register here.