Three MU football players net All-Big 12 honors from AP

Thursday, December 2, 2010 | 8:45 p.m. CST; updated 8:35 p.m. CST, Monday, December 6, 2010

*CORRECTION: Oklahoma also had multiple first team All-Big 12 selections. An earlier version of this story omitted Oklahoma from the list of teams that had multiple first team All-Big 12 selections.

IRVING, Texas — Nebraska and Oklahoma State dominated the All-Big 12 team released Thursday by The Associated Press with six players each. Missouri, Baylor, and Oklahoma* were the only other programs with multiple first-teamers, with tight end Michael Egnew, center Tim Barnes and linebacker Andrew Gachkar earning the honor for the Tigers.

Egnew, a finalist for the 2010 Mackey Award, lead the nation’s tight ends with 83 receptions for 698 yards and four touchdowns. Gachkar had a team-best 81 tackles, while leading the team in interceptions (2), forced fumbles (2), recovered fumbles (2) and blocked kicks (2). Barnes is one of only only three players to start at center in coach Gary Pinkel's time at Missouri and has a string of 39 straight starts.

Oklahoma State quarterback Brandon Weeden, receiver Justin Blackmon, running back Kendall Hunter and lineman Levy Adcock were selected from an Oklahoma State offense that's averaging 537.6 yards per game, second-best in the country.

Blackmon, Hunter and Adcock were unanimous selections. Blackmon leads the nation in receiving with 154.8 yards per game and Hunter is sixth in rushing at 126.3.

Weeden, a 27-year-old former minor-league baseball player, is second in the country in yards passing per game with 336.4. He's 16th in passer rating, top in the conference.

Linebacker Orie Lemon and punter Quinn Sharp round out the honorees from No. 16 Oklahoma State. Lemon was unanimous; Sharp and Blackmon were the only sophomores chosen.

For No. 10 Nebraska, lineman Jared Crick, linebacker Lavonte David and defensive backs Prince Amukamara and Eric Hagg were chosen from a defense that's fifth-best in the country, allowing 291.2 yards per game. The Cornhuskers have the nation's second-best defense against the pass.

Crick and David were unanimous picks. Offensive lineman Ricky Henry and kicker Alex Henery also were chosen from Nebraska, the North division champions.

The Cornhuskers will face No. 13 Oklahoma in the conference championship Saturday night at Cowboys Stadium in Arlington, Texas. Oklahoma tied Oklahoma State and No. 19 Texas A&M for the South title, and advanced on a tiebreaker based on the BCS standings.

The Sooners had four first-teamers — two on offense, two on defense.

Colorado, Kansas State, Texas, Texas A&M and Texas Tech each had one honoree on the all-conference team selected by a panel of 20 voters who regularly cover the Big 12 for newspapers across the league's seven states.

Ten of the 26 honorees were listed on every ballot. That group includes Blackmon and Oklahoma defensive lineman Jeremy Beal, who on Wednesday were named the offensive and defensive players of the year by the same voters.

Other unanimous picks include Colorado offensive lineman Nate Solder, Texas A&M linebacker Von Miller and Texas defensive lineman Sam Acho.

Joining Beal as first-teamers from Oklahoma were receiver Ryan Broyles, all-purpose standout DeMarco Murray and defensive back Jamell Fleming. Broyles leads the nation with 9.6 receptions per game. Murray ran for 1,053 yards, had 535 yards receiving and 249 yards returning kickoffs.

Canada native Danny Watkins, an offensive lineman, and defensive back Byron Landor were chosen from Baylor.

Kansas State's Daniel Thomas was picked at running back, and Texas Tech's Colby Whitlock was picked at defensive line.

Last year, every school had a first-teamer. This year, Kansas and Iowa State missed out.

Like what you see here? Become a member.

Show Me the Errors (What's this?)

Report corrections or additions here. Leave comments below here.

You must be logged in to participate in the Show Me the Errors contest.


Dave Jackson December 3, 2010 | 2:35 a.m.

"Nebraska and Oklahoma State dominated the All-Big 12 team released Thursday by The Associated Press with six players each. Missouri and Baylor were the only other programs with multiple first-teamers..."

-- Oklahoma's Broyles, Flemming and Murray will probably have an exception to that lead-in. Oklahoma, too, had multiple first-teamers.

(Report Comment)
Kevin Deane December 3, 2010 | 4:10 p.m.

Mr. Jackson:

My name is Kevin Deane and I am a copy editor here at the Missourian. We found the mistake and corrected it accordingly. Thank you for the notification.


(Report Comment)
Dave Jackson December 4, 2010 | 11:01 p.m.

Great to see the changes made. Thanks Kevin.

(Report Comment)

Leave a comment

Speak up and join the conversation! Make sure to follow the guidelines outlined below and register with our site. You must be logged in to comment. (Our full comment policy is here.)

  • Don't use obscene, profane or vulgar language.
  • Don't use language that makes personal attacks on fellow commenters or discriminates based on race, religion, gender or ethnicity.
  • Use your real first and last name when registering on the website. It will be published with every comment. (Read why we ask for that here.)
  • Don’t solicit or promote businesses.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through. If you see something objectionable, please click the "Report comment" link.

You must be logged in to comment.

Forget your password?

Don't have an account? Register here.