Missouri Senate committee chairmen selected

Wednesday, January 12, 2011 | 11:32 a.m. CST

JEFFERSON CITY — Missouri Senate President Pro Tem Rob Mayer has selected leaders for the chamber's 18 committees.

One of the highest profile panels is likely to be the Senate Appropriations Committee. Mayer led that committee last year and named Sen. Kurt Schaefer, a Republican from Columbia, to be the committee's new chairman. Schaefer has been the panel's vice chairman.

The only first-year senator named chairman Wednesday was Brian Munzlinger, a Republican from Williamstown. Munzlinger will lead an agriculture committee. Senate Minority Leader Victor Callahan, of Independence, was named chairman of the Progress and Development Committee, which is the only panel with a Democratic majority.

Sen. Kevin Engler, who also had sought to be the Senate leader, was named chairman of the Financial and Government Organization and Elections Committee.


Like what you see here? Become a member.

Show Me the Errors (What's this?)

Report corrections or additions here. Leave comments below here.

You must be logged in to participate in the Show Me the Errors contest.


Leave a comment

Speak up and join the conversation! Make sure to follow the guidelines outlined below and register with our site. You must be logged in to comment. (Our full comment policy is here.)

  • Don't use obscene, profane or vulgar language.
  • Don't use language that makes personal attacks on fellow commenters or discriminates based on race, religion, gender or ethnicity.
  • Use your real first and last name when registering on the website. It will be published with every comment. (Read why we ask for that here.)
  • Don’t solicit or promote businesses.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through. If you see something objectionable, please click the "Report comment" link.

You must be logged in to comment.

Forget your password?

Don't have an account? Register here.