Hickman, Rock Bridge students named National Merit Scholarship finalists

Friday, March 25, 2011 | 3:09 p.m. CDT

COLUMBIA — Twenty-five Columbia students have been named finalists in the National Merit Scholarship Program. High school students who have taken the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test are eligible for the program.

Of the 1.5 million students who take the test nationwide each year, about 50,000 top scorers are identified. From those top scorers, about 15,000 students are chosen as finalists.

Finalists from Hickman High School are:

  • Andrew Atkins
  • William Cowell
  • Grant Hendrix
  • John Hosmer-Quint
  • William Lee
  • Thomas Majerus
  • Ryan Pruitt
  • Cyrus Rautman
  • Eric Young
  • Angela Zou

Finalists from Rock Bridge High School are:

From March through mid-June, the National Merit Scholarship Corporation will name about 8,400 winners. Winners are chosen based on finalists’ academic records, test scores, leadership histories and personal essays, among other things.

Each winner will be chosen for one of three scholarships:

  • National Merit $2,500 Scholarship
  • Corporate-sponsored Merit Scholarship award
  • College-sponsored Merit Scholarship award

Like what you see here? Become a member.

Show Me the Errors (What's this?)

Report corrections or additions here. Leave comments below here.

You must be logged in to participate in the Show Me the Errors contest.


Leave a comment

Speak up and join the conversation! Make sure to follow the guidelines outlined below and register with our site. You must be logged in to comment. (Our full comment policy is here.)

  • Don't use obscene, profane or vulgar language.
  • Don't use language that makes personal attacks on fellow commenters or discriminates based on race, religion, gender or ethnicity.
  • Use your real first and last name when registering on the website. It will be published with every comment. (Read why we ask for that here.)
  • Don’t solicit or promote businesses.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through. If you see something objectionable, please click the "Report comment" link.

You must be logged in to comment.

Forget your password?

Don't have an account? Register here.