Missouri Theatre Center hosts Plowman Chamber Music Competition

Friday, April 8, 2011 | 7:10 p.m. CDT

COLUMBIA — Aeolus String Quartet of the University of Texas at Austin and the Akropolis Reed Quintet of the University of Michigan each won the $3,500 grand prize at the fifth Plowman Chamber Music Competition at the Missouri Theatre Center for the Arts.  

The Plowman Chamber Music Competition was created in 2006 to provide an opportunity for non-professional musicians to perform and be judged by nationally-chosen judges.

This year's judges included pianist Anne Epperson of the University of Texas-Austin; violinist Peter Salaff of the Cleveland Institute of Music and the Cleveland Quartet; and clarinetist David Shifrin of Yale University and the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center. 

The following prizes were given:

  • First place in Woodwinds, Brass and Percussion: West Circle Saxophone Quartet of Michigan State University in East Lansing  
  •  Honorable mention: Axiom Brass of Chicago and the Noble Piano Trio of Yale University
  •  Hugo Vianello Audience Prize: the Noble Piano Trio
  • Judges' recognition: Beaubliss String Quartet of Rutgers University

The Plowman competition will now be held every other year.

Like what you see here? Become a member.

Show Me the Errors (What's this?)

Report corrections or additions here. Leave comments below here.

You must be logged in to participate in the Show Me the Errors contest.


Leave a comment

Speak up and join the conversation! Make sure to follow the guidelines outlined below and register with our site. You must be logged in to comment. (Our full comment policy is here.)

  • Don't use obscene, profane or vulgar language.
  • Don't use language that makes personal attacks on fellow commenters or discriminates based on race, religion, gender or ethnicity.
  • Use your real first and last name when registering on the website. It will be published with every comment. (Read why we ask for that here.)
  • Don’t solicit or promote businesses.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through. If you see something objectionable, please click the "Report comment" link.

You must be logged in to comment.

Forget your password?

Don't have an account? Register here.