Detective Joseph Jackson selected as Officer of the Year for Columbia

Thursday, April 28, 2011 | 6:54 p.m. CDT; updated 8:37 p.m. CDT, Thursday, April 28, 2011
Detective Joseph Jackson poses with his wife, Lucy Erin Jackson, for a fellow officer's picture Thursday after being honored as Columbia Police Department's 2010 Officer of the Year. The department's annual award ceremony was held at Columbia City Hall.

COLUMBIA — Detective Joseph Jackson received the Columbia Police Department’s Molly Thomas Bowden Officer of the Year award for his service in 2010.

The award ceremony was held in Columbia’s City Council Chambers with uniformed officers, detectives, sergeants and civilians in the audience. Members of the Columbia Police Department were honored as nominees for a number of awards before the recipients were announced. Jackson, a stocky man with a dark mustache, wore a suit and tie adorned with a small tie clip, a miniature set of golden handcuffs.

“He’s detail-oriented,” said Sgt. Mike Lederle, describing Jackson’s work ethic. “When he has a case, he treats it like it was his mom or dad who was the victim.”

Lederle, who’s worked with Jackson in the department’s investigative unit, said he’s well deserving of the award.

Jackson has put in countless hours for the department on cases such as the Aaron Hobson homicide last year. Six of the eight defendants in that case have pleaded not guilty to date, with the other two set for preliminary hearings in May. 

“Interview, after interview, after interview” went into the investigations, Jackson said. “It’s nice to be recognized.”

During the reception, Captain Brad Nelson spoke to Jackson’s character.

“(He’s) one of the better detectives,” Nelson said. “(He) wants to close a case for the right reasons.”

“He’s a leader within the department,” added Officer Chad Gooch, who has worked with Jackson since before he became a detective. “Very professional.”

Jackson began working at the department in 2003 in the patrol unit. He received his detective's badge in 2006.

Other awards given at the ceremony included:

  • 2010 Civilian Employee of the Year – Brenda Douglas
  • 2010 Rookie of the Year – Officer Brian Graff
  • 2010 Supervisor of the Year – Sergeant Mike Hestir

Like what you see here? Become a member.

Show Me the Errors (What's this?)

Report corrections or additions here. Leave comments below here.

You must be logged in to participate in the Show Me the Errors contest.


Leave a comment

Speak up and join the conversation! Make sure to follow the guidelines outlined below and register with our site. You must be logged in to comment. (Our full comment policy is here.)

  • Don't use obscene, profane or vulgar language.
  • Don't use language that makes personal attacks on fellow commenters or discriminates based on race, religion, gender or ethnicity.
  • Use your real first and last name when registering on the website. It will be published with every comment. (Read why we ask for that here.)
  • Don’t solicit or promote businesses.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through. If you see something objectionable, please click the "Report comment" link.

You must be logged in to comment.

Forget your password?

Don't have an account? Register here.