Missouri's Egnew lone tight end named to Walter Camp watch list

Monday, July 18, 2011 | 8:24 p.m. CDT

COLUMBIA — Missouri tight end Michael Egnew has been named to the watch list for the 2011 Player of the Year Award, handed out by the Walter Camp Football Foundation. The Missouri senior is one of 40 players on the list, which was released on the foundation’s website Monday. Egnew is the only tight end on the list.

Last season, Egnew ranked second on the Tigers in receiving yardage, racking up 762 yards. He was also second in receptions, with 90, and receiving touchdowns, with five. He trailed only wide receiver T.J. Moe in all three categories. Nationally, Egnew led all tight ends in receptions and ranked 11th overall.

The Plainview, Texas, native was named to the watch list for the Mackey Award, given to college football’s top tight end, earlier this month. He was a finalist for that award last season, when he was also given First Team All-American and First-Team All-Big 12 honors.

Other Big 12 players on the Walter Camp watch list include Oklahoma State wide receiver Justin Blackmon, Oklahoma wide receiver Ryan Broyles, Texas A&M wide receiver Jeff Fuller, Baylor quarterback Robert Griffin III, Oklahoma quarterback Landry Jones and Oklahoma State quarterback Brandon Weeden.

The Walter Camp Football Foundation’s Player of the Year Award is the fourth-oldest individual college football award in the country, according to the foundation’s website. Last year’s winner was quarterback Cam Newton, who led the Auburn Tigers to a national championship and was later selected in the first round of the 2011 NFL Draft. Former Texas quarterback Colt McCoy won the award in 2008 and 2009.

Like what you see here? Become a member.

Show Me the Errors (What's this?)

Report corrections or additions here. Leave comments below here.

You must be logged in to participate in the Show Me the Errors contest.


Leave a comment

Speak up and join the conversation! Make sure to follow the guidelines outlined below and register with our site. You must be logged in to comment. (Our full comment policy is here.)

  • Don't use obscene, profane or vulgar language.
  • Don't use language that makes personal attacks on fellow commenters or discriminates based on race, religion, gender or ethnicity.
  • Use your real first and last name when registering on the website. It will be published with every comment. (Read why we ask for that here.)
  • Don’t solicit or promote businesses.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through. If you see something objectionable, please click the "Report comment" link.

You must be logged in to comment.

Forget your password?

Don't have an account? Register here.