Missouri Wine Competition winners announced

Friday, July 22, 2011 | 2:42 p.m. CDT; updated 11:01 a.m. CDT, Sunday, July 24, 2011

COLUMBIA — The 2011 Missouri Wine Competition winners were announced Wednesday with Blumenhof Vineyards and Winery of Dutzow winning the coveted Governor’s Cup for their 2010 Valvin Muscat, a sweet white wine.

Stonehill Winery won the C.V. Riley Award for Best Norton for its 2009 Estate Bottled Norton.

Best of Class Winners:

Sparkling — Brut Rose, Stone Hill Winery

Dry white — 2010 Estate Bottled Vignoles, Augusta Winery


Semi-dry white — Femme Osage Traminette, Blumenhof Vineyards


Sweet white — 2010 Valvin Muscat, Blumenhof Vineyards


Dry red — 2009 Chambourcin, Montelle Winery


Semi-dry red — 2010 St. Vincent, Mount Pleasant Estates


Blush — Rose Montaigne, Stone Hill Winery


Dessert/fortified — Pirtle Premium Port, Pirtle Winery


Distilled product — Peach Brandy, Montelle Winery

Like what you see here? Become a member.

Show Me the Errors (What's this?)

Report corrections or additions here. Leave comments below here.

You must be logged in to participate in the Show Me the Errors contest.


Ellis Smith July 22, 2011 | 3:11 p.m.

No surprises. Most of the winners are located near each other. Pirtle is located at Weston, Missouri, northwest of Kansas City.

(Report Comment)

Leave a comment

Speak up and join the conversation! Make sure to follow the guidelines outlined below and register with our site. You must be logged in to comment. (Our full comment policy is here.)

  • Don't use obscene, profane or vulgar language.
  • Don't use language that makes personal attacks on fellow commenters or discriminates based on race, religion, gender or ethnicity.
  • Use your real first and last name when registering on the website. It will be published with every comment. (Read why we ask for that here.)
  • Don’t solicit or promote businesses.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through. If you see something objectionable, please click the "Report comment" link.

You must be logged in to comment.

Forget your password?

Don't have an account? Register here.