Missouri Gov. Nixon requests another disaster declaration

Monday, July 25, 2011 | 7:49 p.m. CDT

JEFFERSON CITY — Missouri's governor has asked President Barack Obama to issue a major disaster declaration for 23 northern counties hit by severe storms and flooding along the Missouri River.

The disaster request announced Monday by Gov. Jay Nixon covers events since June 1. If approved, it would allow government aid to flow to families and public agencies that have suffered losses.

Counties included in the request are Adair, Andrew, Atchison, Buchanan, Carroll, Chariton, Clark, Holt, Howard, Knox, Lafayette, Lewis, Linn, Macon, Marion, Monroe, Platte, Ralls, Ray, St. Charles, Saline, Shelby and Sullivan.

Parts of Missouri already are under a federal disaster declaration for tornadoes and flooding that occurred in the spring.