Five Missouri players named to All-Big 12 football teams

Wednesday, December 7, 2011 | 7:56 p.m. CST; updated 11:53 p.m. CST, Saturday, December 10, 2011
MU tailback Henry Josey scores the Tigers' fourth touchdown to put them ahead 31-28 against the Texas A&M Aggies at Kyle Field on Saturday, Oct. 29, 2011. Missouri defeated the Texas A&M Aggies in overtime, 38-31.

COLUMBIA — Five Missouri football players were named to the All-Big 12 Conference teams on Wednesday.

Sophomore running back Henry Josey and senior tight end Michael Egnew were named to the All-Big 12 First Team, according to a release from the Missouri Athletics Department. Senior defensive end Jacquies Smith, sophomore cornerback E.J. Gaines and junior punter Trey Barrow were named to the All-Big 12 Second Team.

Independence Bowl

Missouri (7-5, 5-4 in Big 12)
vs. North Carolina (7-5, 3-5 ACC)

WHEN: 4 p.m. Dec. 26
Independence Stadium, Shreveport, La.
KTGR/1580 AM, 100.5 FM;KCMQ/98.7 FM

For ticket information call 1-800-228-7297, go to the ticket office at Mizzou Arena or visit or

Related Media

Related Articles

Josey was named to the first team despite missing the final two games of the regular season. He suffered a knee injury in Missouri's Nov. 12 win over Texas. Josey finished the regular season as the Big 12's third-leading rusher, amassing 1,168 yards on the ground. He led the conference with 116.8 yards per game.

Egnew was named to the All-Big 12 First Team for the second-straight season. The senior followed up his All-American season from 2010 with 484 receiving yards on 47 catches in 2011. He led all Big 12 tight ends in receiving yardage.

Nine other Tigers received honorable mentions: Senior defensive lineman Dominique Hamilton, senior offensive lineman Dan Hoch, senior safety Kenji Jackson, senior linebacker Luke Lambert, junior wide receiver T.J. Moe, senior offensive lineman Jayson Palmgren, junior defensive lineman Sheldon Richardson, freshman defensive back Braylon Webb and senior offensive lineman Austin Wuebbels.

Hamilton received votes for Big 12 Defensive Lineman of the Year, Richardson received votes for Big 12 Newcomer of the Year and Webb received votes for Big 12 Defensive Freshman of the Year.

The Big 12's football coaches make the all-conference selections. Coaches aren't allowed to vote for their own players.

Like what you see here? Become a member.

Show Me the Errors (What's this?)

Report corrections or additions here. Leave comments below here.

You must be logged in to participate in the Show Me the Errors contest.


Leave a comment

Speak up and join the conversation! Make sure to follow the guidelines outlined below and register with our site. You must be logged in to comment. (Our full comment policy is here.)

  • Don't use obscene, profane or vulgar language.
  • Don't use language that makes personal attacks on fellow commenters or discriminates based on race, religion, gender or ethnicity.
  • Use your real first and last name when registering on the website. It will be published with every comment. (Read why we ask for that here.)
  • Don’t solicit or promote businesses.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through. If you see something objectionable, please click the "Report comment" link.

You must be logged in to comment.

Forget your password?

Don't have an account? Register here.