You are viewing the print version of this article. Click here to view the full version.
Columbia Missourian

Polls open from 6 a.m. to 7 p.m. for Tuesday primary

By The Missourian staff
February 2, 2012 | 6:00 a.m. CST

COLUMBIA — Boone County polling places will be open from 6 a.m. to 7 p.m. Tuesday for the Missouri presidential primary.

The primary will include ballots for the Republican, Democrat, Libertarian and Constitution parties. Although the Constitution Party has no candidate on the ballot, voters can cast an uncommitted Constitution ballot if they choose.


Related Media

Related Articles

There are four Democratic, 10 Republican and one Libertarian candidate on the ballot. Voters also will have the option on those parties' ballots to cast an uncommitted vote.

Missouri has an open primary, which means voters do not have be registered members of any party to participate. They can go to their polling places and select the ballot of their choice.

Voters should be sure to bring some form of identification to the polls. Acceptable forms include a Boone County voter ID card, a driver's license, a state-issued ID, an ID card from an institution of higher education, a federally issued ID such as a passport, a Social Security, Medicaid or Medicare card, a copy of a current bank statement or a utility bill.

Voters who have moved since the last election must file a change of address if they haven't done so already. You can complete a change of address online at the county clerk's website or print the form and mail it to Wendy S. Noren, Boone County Clerk, 801 E. Walnut St., Room 236, Columbia, Mo., 65201-7731. You can also simply mail in your name, old address, new address, mailing address (if different), date of birth, telephone number (optional), signature and the last 4 digits of your Social Security number.

Voters can find a list of polling places at the Boone County Clerk's website.

The candidates

Republicans | Gary Johnson, Mitt Romney, Michael J. Meehan, Keith Drummond, Rick Santorum, Ron Paul, Newt Gingrich. On the ballot, but no longer running: Herman Cain, Jon Huntsman, Rick Perry, Michele Bachman.

Democrats | President Barack Obama, Randall Terry, John Wolfe, Darcy Richardson.

Libertarian | James Orlando Ogle III

Read about all three parties' candidates on one page.