UPDATE: Mizzou '39 award recipients announced

Tuesday, February 7, 2012 | 9:58 a.m. CST; updated 1:09 p.m. CST, Wednesday, February 8, 2012

*UPDATE: This story has been updated to include all award recipients.

COLUMBIA — The 39 students receiving the Mizzou '39 award were announced by the Mizzou Alumni Association.

Mizzou '39 recognizes outstanding seniors at MU for their academic achievement, leadership and service to the campus and community. The number 39 is in honor of MU's founding in 1839.

Each student named a faculty or staff member from MU that has served as a mentor. All the recipients will be recognized at halftime of the Missouri men's basketball game against Baylor on Saturday and at a banquet that evening.

Listed below are the recipients, and his or her major.

  • Ellen Amos — agricultural education
  • Jamal Andress — broadcast journalism
  • Derek Benham — biochemistry
  • Emily Boehm — civil engineering
  • Molly Boland — broadcast journalism
  • Laurence Bowers — sociology
  • Melanie Brown — accountancy
  • Ryan Bueckendorf — English and secondary education
  • Ashley Davidson — biochemistry and nutritional sciences
  • Cole Donelson — management and strategic communication
  • Sarah Ely — marketing
  • Leslie Farmer — biology and economics
  • Lauren Fischer — biochemistry
  • Elizabeth Fracica — biological sciences
  • Samantha Hall — political science and international studies
  • Meagan Halphin — middle and secondary English education
  • Adrienne Hoffman — business marketing 
  • Kassie Hyde — biological sciences and Spanish
  • Cidney King — broadcast journalism
  • Claudia Krueger — mechanical engineering
  • Michael Lopresti — industrial manufacturing systems engineering
  • Emily Luft — women's and gender studies
  • Melanie Mason — biology; pre-med
  • Emily Milford — biology and psychology
  • T.J. Moe — business management
  • Arwa Mohammad — biological sciences
  • Emily Moon — strategic communication
  • Kam Phillips — social work
  • Andreas Plackis — biological sciences
  • Alex Prestel — strategic communication and graphic design
  • Colbey Ricklefs — biology, psychology and sociology
  • Julie Ronzio — elementary education
  • Hannah Schillinger — elementary education
  • Morgan Schmit — business administration
  • Nathan Smith — agricultural business management
  • Brandon Thiel — plant science
  • Kylie Tutko — Spanish and strategic communication
  • Lakeisha Williams — strategic communication
  • Laura Young –  nursing

Of the 39, six Missouri athletes have been selected as recipients of the award:

  • Laurence Bowers — men's basketball
  • Ashley Davidson — cheerleading
  • Leslie Farmer — track and field
  • Michael Lopresti — swimming and diving
  • T.J. Moe — football
  • Andreas Plackis — baseball

Like what you see here? Become a member.

Show Me the Errors (What's this?)

Report corrections or additions here. Leave comments below here.

You must be logged in to participate in the Show Me the Errors contest.


Leave a comment

Speak up and join the conversation! Make sure to follow the guidelines outlined below and register with our site. You must be logged in to comment. (Our full comment policy is here.)

  • Don't use obscene, profane or vulgar language.
  • Don't use language that makes personal attacks on fellow commenters or discriminates based on race, religion, gender or ethnicity.
  • Use your real first and last name when registering on the website. It will be published with every comment. (Read why we ask for that here.)
  • Don’t solicit or promote businesses.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through. If you see something objectionable, please click the "Report comment" link.

You must be logged in to comment.

Forget your password?

Don't have an account? Register here.