Missouri women's basketball faces Oklahoma State at Big 12 Championship

Monday, March 5, 2012 | 7:01 p.m. CST; updated 7:27 p.m. CST, Tuesday, March 6, 2012

*An earlier version of this article listed an incorrect position for Baylor center Brittney Griner.

COLUMBIA — The Missouri women's basketball team finished its regular season Saturday with a 12-17 overall record and a 2-16 record in the Big 12 Conference.

Missouri will enter the Big 12 Conference Championship tournament on Wednesday in Kansas City as the No. 10 seed.

The Tigers will play No. 7 Oklahoma State at 7:30 p.m. in the second of two games at Municipal Auditorium. Missouri lost both games to Oklahoma State this season, including a 68-47 loss on Saturday to concluded its regular season.

The winner of Wednesday's game will play No. 2 Oklahoma at 5 p.m. Thursday.


The Big 12 Women's Basketball Awards were announced Monday.

Freshman point guard Kyley Simmons made the Big 12 All-Freshman Team, and senior Christine Flores was named to the All-Big 12 Second Team. Senior BreAnna Brock earned All-Big 12 Honorable Mention honors.

Those were the only Missouri players on the awards list.

Player of the Year: Brittney Griner, Baylor junior center

Freshman of the Year: Liz Donohoe, Oklahoma State forward

Coach of the Year: Kim Mulkey, Baylor

Sixth Man Award: Sharane Campbell, Oklahoma freshman guard

Defensive Player of the Year: Brittney Griner, Baylor junior center

Newcomer of the Year: Kelsey Bone, Texas A&M junior center


  • Brittney Griner, Baylor junior center*
  • Odyssey Sims, Baylor sophomore guard
  • Chelsea Poppens, Iowa State junior forward
  • Carolyn Davis, Kansas junior forward
  • Brittany Chambers, Kansas State junior guard
  • Jalana Childs, Kansas State senior forward
  • Aaryn Ellenberg, Oklahoma sophomore guard
  • Whitney Hand, Oklahoma junior guard
  • Chassidy Fussell, Texas sophomore guard
  • Tyra White, Texas A&M senior guard


  • Destiny Williams, Baylor junior forward
  • Angel Goodrich, Kansas junior guard
  • Christine Flores, Missouri senior forward
  • Tiffany Bias, Oklahoma State sophomore guard
  • Sydney Carter, Texas A&M senior guard


  • Nikki Moody, Iowa State guard
  • Kyley Simmons, Missouri guard
  • Sharane Campbell, Oklahoma guard
  • Liz Donohoe, Oklahoma State forward
  • Alexia Standish, Texas A&M guard


  • Brittney Griner, Baylor junior center
  • Odyssey Sims, Baylor sophomore guard 
  • Ashley Gayle, Texas senior center
  • Sydney Carter, Texas A&M senior guard
  • Monique Smalls, Texas Tech junior guard

Like what you see here? Become a member.

Show Me the Errors (What's this?)

Report corrections or additions here. Leave comments below here.

You must be logged in to participate in the Show Me the Errors contest.


Leave a comment

Speak up and join the conversation! Make sure to follow the guidelines outlined below and register with our site. You must be logged in to comment. (Our full comment policy is here.)

  • Don't use obscene, profane or vulgar language.
  • Don't use language that makes personal attacks on fellow commenters or discriminates based on race, religion, gender or ethnicity.
  • Use your real first and last name when registering on the website. It will be published with every comment. (Read why we ask for that here.)
  • Don’t solicit or promote businesses.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through. If you see something objectionable, please click the "Report comment" link.

You must be logged in to comment.

Forget your password?

Don't have an account? Register here.