Kansas wins Naismith Student Section of the Year Award

Wednesday, March 14, 2012 | 10:22 p.m. CDT

Kansas already wrapped up two national championships even before the second-seeded Jayhawks opened the NCAA tournament against No. 15 seed Detroit Titans on Friday night.

The Collegiate Licensing Company and the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced Wednesday that the Jayhawks were the winners of the inaugural Naismith Student Section of the Year Award, which comes with a $5,000 donation to the school's general scholarship fund.

Approximately 80 schools were narrowed to eight by two rounds of public voting, and the Naismith Awards board of selectors chose the Kansas student section from the finalists.

"We have the best students and fans in the country, and we are thrilled to now have national confirmation of what we have always known," Kansas coach Bill Self said.

Earlier this week, Inside Higher Ed declared the Jayhawks champions of the "Academic NCAA Tournament," in which teams are advanced through the bracket based on their Academic Progress Rates, a standard used by the NCAA to measure academic performance.

Kansas defeated Davidson — a team it lost to on the hardwood in December — for the championship. Lehigh and Texas also made the Final Four.

Like what you see here? Become a member.

Show Me the Errors (What's this?)

Report corrections or additions here. Leave comments below here.

You must be logged in to participate in the Show Me the Errors contest.


Leave a comment

Speak up and join the conversation! Make sure to follow the guidelines outlined below and register with our site. You must be logged in to comment. (Our full comment policy is here.)

  • Don't use obscene, profane or vulgar language.
  • Don't use language that makes personal attacks on fellow commenters or discriminates based on race, religion, gender or ethnicity.
  • Use your real first and last name when registering on the website. It will be published with every comment. (Read why we ask for that here.)
  • Don’t solicit or promote businesses.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through. If you see something objectionable, please click the "Report comment" link.

You must be logged in to comment.

Forget your password?

Don't have an account? Register here.