SHOW ME THE RECORDS: Local weather warning systems

Monday, May 14, 2012 | 12:01 a.m. CDT; updated 9:40 a.m. CDT, Monday, May 14, 2012

Each week, the Missourian highlights a government record that is available to the public. Open records help people keep government in check and help them better understand how government affects their lives. For a complete list of Show Me the Records, go to

The records: The State of Missouri Data Portal published the 2012 Local Warning Systems Consolidated Report, which includes almost 400 weather warning systems, classified by county.

Why you'd want them: The report lists providers of weather warning systems, their websites and user fees, if applicable. It offers Missouri residents a database where they can check and compare warning systems — many of which send extreme weather alerts directly to the subscribers’ cell phones.

Boone County, for example, has five available warning systems; three are free of charge.

Where you get the records: Go to the State of Missouri Data Portal’s website at Click on the "Weather" link under the “Topics” section on the left-hand menu bar. The link will take you directly to the 2012 Local Warning Systems Consolidated Report.

How much it will cost: These records are free.

Like what you see here? Become a member.

Show Me the Errors (What's this?)

Report corrections or additions here. Leave comments below here.

You must be logged in to participate in the Show Me the Errors contest.


Leave a comment

Speak up and join the conversation! Make sure to follow the guidelines outlined below and register with our site. You must be logged in to comment. (Our full comment policy is here.)

  • Don't use obscene, profane or vulgar language.
  • Don't use language that makes personal attacks on fellow commenters or discriminates based on race, religion, gender or ethnicity.
  • Use your real first and last name when registering on the website. It will be published with every comment. (Read why we ask for that here.)
  • Don’t solicit or promote businesses.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through. If you see something objectionable, please click the "Report comment" link.

You must be logged in to comment.

Forget your password?

Don't have an account? Register here.