Democrats propose rules for Hall of Famous Missourians

Thursday, March 15, 2012 | 4:32 p.m. CDT; updated 11:41 a.m. CDT, Friday, March 16, 2012

JEFFERSON CITY — House Democrats are proposing formal criteria and a requirement for bipartisan approval before people are inducted into the Hall of Famous Missourians — a reaction to Democrats' criticism of the selection of Rush Limbaugh for the honor.

The proposed new requirements, released Thursday to The Associated Press, would require that selections for the Hall of Famous Missourians be supported by at least three of the top four legislative leaders. Inductions would need three votes from among the House speaker, Senate president pro tem and both chambers' minority leaders.

Members of the Hall of Famous Missourian

There are currently 39 inductees in the Capitol's Hall of Famous Missourians. More information about each inductee and a guide to the hall can be found online.
  • John Jordan "Buck" O'Neil
  • Warren Eastman Hearnes
  • James Smith McDonnell
  • George Caleb Bingham
  • John Neihardt
  • Ginger Rogers
  • Betty Grable
  • Alexander Doniphan
  • Lamar Hunt
  • Bob Barker
  • Rose Philippine Duchesne
  • Dale Carnegie
  • John Ashcroft
  • Jack Buck
  • R. Marlin Perkins
  • Edwin Hubble
  • Stanley Frank Musial
  • James "Champ" Clark
  • Tom Bass
  • Walter Cronkite
  • Ewing Marion Kauffman
  • Reinhold Niebuhr
  • Emmett Kelly
  • Gen. John J. Pershing
  • Joyce C. Hall
  • Josephine Baker
  • Charlie "Yardbird" Parker
  • James Cash Penney
  • Sacajawea
  • Laura Ingalls Wilder
  • Walter Elias Disney
  • Scott Joplin
  • Gen. Omar N. Bradley
  • Harry S Truman
  • David Rice Atchison
  • Thomas Hart Benton
  • Susan Elizabeth Blow
  • George Washington Carver
  • Samuel Langhorne Clemens

Related Media

Related Articles

The number of new selections also would be capped at two people every two years. Currently, inductees are chosen by the speaker of the Missouri House.

Inductees would need to have been born in Missouri or lived and worked in the state for a significant part of their lives. Excellence in art, literature, science, government, politics, sports, commerce, religion, entertainment and military affairs would qualify someone for the honor.

Attention on the Hall of Famous Missourians erupted last week after House Speaker Steven Tilley said he had decided to honor Limbaugh, calling the conservative talk show host among the world's best known radio personalities.

Democrats have objected and specifically cited Limbaugh's recent comments describing a female law student involved in the national debate about insurance for contraception as a "slut" and "prostitute."

Inductees into the Hall of Famous Missourians have their busts displayed in the state Capitol. Several dozen people have been chosen by Missouri House speakers through the years. They include President Harry Truman, Walt Disney, George Washington Carver, St. Louis Cardinals baseball player Stan Musial and journalist Walter Cronkite. The busts are paid for with private donations.

Late Negro Leagues baseball player Buck O'Neil was inducted into the Hall of Famous Missourians during a ceremony this year. Tilley also has said he plans to select Dred Scott, a slave who sued unsuccessfully for his freedom in the famous court case.

The proposed legislation dealing with the Hall of Famous Missourians is the most recent action Democrats have taken. Forty-eight Democrats already sent Tilley a letter, calling Limbaugh unworthy of the honor because of a "controversial career" and urging the speaker to reconsider.

Last week, Democratic Gov. Jay Nixon expressed concerns about the process used in the inductions after House Democrats asked the governor's administration to block Limbaugh's bust from appearing in the Capitol.

House Minority Leader Mike Talboy said Thursday that the selection of Limbaugh has brought new controversy to the honor. He said House Democrats would seek to add the requirements as an amendment to legislation before lawmakers' mid-May adjournment.

"It is now clear that a formal process is needed in state law for inducting future members, rather than leaving it to the whims of a single person," said Talboy, D-Kansas City.

Tilley, a Republican, has defended the selection of Limbaugh and noted that others in the Hall of Famous Missourians also have made controversial statements. He said he decided to honor Limbaugh about three months ago.

The selection also has been endorsed by the top state Senate Republican. Tilley, Senate President Pro Tem Rob Mayer and Limbaugh all are from southeastern Missouri.

Like what you see here? Become a member.

Show Me the Errors (What's this?)

Report corrections or additions here. Leave comments below here.

You must be logged in to participate in the Show Me the Errors contest.


Leave a comment

Speak up and join the conversation! Make sure to follow the guidelines outlined below and register with our site. You must be logged in to comment. (Our full comment policy is here.)

  • Don't use obscene, profane or vulgar language.
  • Don't use language that makes personal attacks on fellow commenters or discriminates based on race, religion, gender or ethnicity.
  • Use your real first and last name when registering on the website. It will be published with every comment. (Read why we ask for that here.)
  • Don’t solicit or promote businesses.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through. If you see something objectionable, please click the "Report comment" link.

You must be logged in to comment.

Forget your password?

Don't have an account? Register here.