Missouri's Denmon earns AP 2nd team All-America honors

Monday, March 26, 2012 | 6:43 p.m. CDT

COLUMBIA — Missouri senior guard Marcus Denmon was been named to the Associated Press All-America men's basketball team second team Monday, making him the Tigers' first All-American since Melvin Booker in 1994 and the Tigers' 21st overall All-American.

Denmon was also named to the John R. Wooden All-America team on Monday as one of 10 selections, making him one of 10 finalists for the Wooden Award, which recognizes the top player in college basketball.

2011-12 AP All-America Teams

Thomas Robinson, Kansas, 6-10, 237, junior, Washington, 17.9 ppg, 11.8 rpg, 1.9 apg, 53.1 fg pct. (65 first-place votes, 325 points)
Anthony Davis, Kentucky, 6-10, 220, freshman, Chicago, 14.3 ppg, 10.0 rpg, 64.2 fg pct., 4.6 blocks (63, 321)
Draymond Green, Michigan State, 6-7, 230, senior, Saginaw, Mich., 16.1 ppg, 10.4 rpg, 3.6 apg, 1.5 steals (53, 301)
Jared Sullinger, Ohio State, 6-9, 280, sophomore, Columbus, Ohio, 17.6 ppg, 9.3 rpg, 53.9 fg pct. (30, 246)
Doug McDermott, Creighton, 6-7, 220, sophomore, Ames, Iowa, 23.2 ppg, 8.2 rpg, 61.0 fg pct., 49.5 3-pt fg pct. (29, 237)

Isaiah Canaan, Murray State, 6-0, 195, junior, Biloxi, Miss., 19.2 ppg, 3.3 rpg, 3.7 apg, 47.3 3-pt fg pct., 84.0 ft pct, 1.4 steals (30, 232)
Marcus Denmon, Missouri,
6-3, 185, senior, Kansas City, Mo., 17.6 ppg, 5.1 rpg, 2.1 apg, 40.9 3-pt fg pct., 89.8 ft pct., 1.6 steals (22, 220)
Tyler Zeller, North Carolina, 7-0, 250, senior, Washington, Ind., 16.5 ppg, 9.3 rpg, 55.5 fg pct., 80.9 ft pct., 1.3 blocks (7, 185)
Jae Crowder, Marquette, 6-6, 235, senior, Villa Rica, Ga., 17.4 ppg, 8.1 rpg, 2.1 apg, 50.5 fg pct., 2.4 steals (6, 140)
Kevin Jones, West Virginia, 6-8, 260, senior, Mount Vernon, N.Y., 20.1 ppg, 11.1 rpg, 38.3 minutes, 51.3 fg pct. (2, 112)

Michael Kidd-Gilchrist, Kentucky, 6-7, 232, freshman, Somerdale, N.J., 11.8 ppg, 7.6 rpg, 2.0 apg (0, 89)
Tyshawn Taylor, Kansas, 6-3, 185, senior, Hoboken, N.J., 17.3 ppg, 4.8 apg, 49.2 fg pct, 43.5 3-pt fg pct. (2, 83)
John Jenkins, Vanderbilt, 6-4, 220, junior, Hendersonville, Tenn., 19.9 ppg, 2.8 rpg, 44.8 3-pt fg pct., 84.3 ft pct. (2, 73)
Kendall Marshall, North Carolina, 6-4, 195, sophomore, Dumfries, Va., 7.8 ppg, 2.6 rpg, 9.7 apg, 1.2 steals (5, 49)
Damian Lillard, Weber State, 6-3, 195, junior, Oakland, Calif., 24.4 ppg, 5.0 rpg, 4.1 apg, 42.1 3-pt fg pct., 88.1 ft pct., 1.5 steals (3, 45)

Harrison Barnes, North Carolina; Will Barton, Memphis; Julian Boyd, LIU Brooklyn; Ryan Broekhoff, Valparaiso; De'Mon Brooks, Davidson.
Trey Burke, Michigan; Deonte Burton, Nevada; Torrey Craig, S.C.-Upstate; Paul Crosby, Mississippi Valley State; Matthew Dellavedova, Saint Mary's.
LaRon Dendy, Middle Tennessee; Matt Dickey, UNC Asheville; Jamaal Franklin, San Diego State; Jorge Gutierrez, California; John Henson, North Carolina.
Robbie Hummel, Purdue; Pierre Jackson, Baylor; Darius Johnson-Odom, Marquette; Perry Jones III, Baylor; Kris Joseph, Syracuse.
Jeremy Lamb, Connecticut; Scott Machado, Iona; C.J. McCollum, Lehigh; Dominique Morrison, Oral Roberts; Mike Moser, UNLV.
Andrew Nicholson, St. Bonaventure; Kyle O'Quinn, Norfolk State; Darryl Partin, Boston University; Ryan Pearson, George Mason; Mason Plumlee, Duke.
Patrick Richard, McNeese State; Austin Rivers, Duke; Zack Rosen, Pennsylvania; Mike Scott, Virginia; John Shurna, Northwestern.
Jordan Taylor, Wisconsin; Dion Waiters, Syracuse; Casper Ware, Long Beach State; Mitchell Watt, Buffalo; Royce White, Iowa State; Isaiah Wilkerson, NJIT; Nate Wolters, South Dakota State; Cody Zeller, Indiana.

(statistics through March 18)

Related Articles

Denmon led the Tigers with 17.7 points per game this season and averaged 5.0 rebounds per game from his shooting guard position, despite being listed at just 6-3. He also committed just 41 turnovers on the season against 74 assists while gathering 54 steals.

The Wooden Award takes into account academic progress and competitive excellence, including play in the first two rounds of the NCAA Tournament. The John R. Wooden Award winner will be announced Saturday on ESPN at the Final Four in New Orleans, Louisiana.

Like what you see here? Become a member.

Show Me the Errors (What's this?)

Report corrections or additions here. Leave comments below here.

You must be logged in to participate in the Show Me the Errors contest.


Leave a comment

Speak up and join the conversation! Make sure to follow the guidelines outlined below and register with our site. You must be logged in to comment. (Our full comment policy is here.)

  • Don't use obscene, profane or vulgar language.
  • Don't use language that makes personal attacks on fellow commenters or discriminates based on race, religion, gender or ethnicity.
  • Use your real first and last name when registering on the website. It will be published with every comment. (Read why we ask for that here.)
  • Don’t solicit or promote businesses.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through. If you see something objectionable, please click the "Report comment" link.

You must be logged in to comment.

Forget your password?

Don't have an account? Register here.