Four Missouri players selected for All-SEC coaches' preseason team

Thursday, July 12, 2012 | 1:35 p.m. CDT; updated 4:07 p.m. CDT, Thursday, July 12, 2012

COLUMBIA — Four Missouri Tigers received recognition in the Southeastern Conference coaches’ preseason football team, the league announced Thursday.

Each of the four landed on the All-SEC third team: senior offensive tackle Elvis Fisher, senior wide receiver T.J. Moe, senior linebacker Zaviar Gooden and junior cornerback E.J. Gaines.

Missouri’s four selections place it in a tie with Mississippi State for the 10th best representation in the SEC. Alabama and LSU tied with 11 selections to lead the SEC, which features 14 members for the first time with the additions of Missouri and Texas A&M from the Big 12 Conference.

Texas A&M had seven players selected in its first preseason in the SEC.

Each of Missouri’s four selections has received All-Big 12 recognition at some point in his career. Gaines and Moe received the honor last season, while Fisher sat out the year with a torn patellar tendon.

Like what you see here? Become a member.

Show Me the Errors (What's this?)

Report corrections or additions here. Leave comments below here.

You must be logged in to participate in the Show Me the Errors contest.


Leave a comment

Speak up and join the conversation! Make sure to follow the guidelines outlined below and register with our site. You must be logged in to comment. (Our full comment policy is here.)

  • Don't use obscene, profane or vulgar language.
  • Don't use language that makes personal attacks on fellow commenters or discriminates based on race, religion, gender or ethnicity.
  • Use your real first and last name when registering on the website. It will be published with every comment. (Read why we ask for that here.)
  • Don’t solicit or promote businesses.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through. If you see something objectionable, please click the "Report comment" link.

You must be logged in to comment.

Forget your password?

Don't have an account? Register here.