London Olympics: U.S. swimmers win four medals Monday

Monday, July 30, 2012 | 2:30 p.m. CDT; updated 5:39 p.m. CDT, Monday, July 30, 2012
United States' Missy Franklin reacts to her gold medal win in the women's 100-meter backstroke swimming final at the Aquatics Centre in the Olympic Park on Monday.

The U.S. swimming team captured four medals — two gold and two silver — at the London Olympics on Monday.

Missy Franklin and Matt Grevers took gold in their respective 100-meter backstroke finals, while Nick Thoman and Rebecca Soni finished second in the 100-meter backstroke and 100-meter breaststroke respectively. Ryan Lochte came in fourth in the men's 200-meter freestyle.

Women's 100-meter backstroke

American teenager Franklin won the women's 100-meter backstroke.

Franklin won the two-lap race in 58.33 seconds for her first Olympic gold and second medal after taking bronze in the 4x100 freestyle relay.

Emily Seebohm of Australia touched in 58.68 to take the silver medal, and Aya Terakawa of Japan finished in 58.83 to take bronze.

Franklin swam little more than 10 minutes after taking the eighth and final qualifying spot in the 200 freestyle semifinals.

Men's 100-meter backstroke

Grevers set an Olympic record to win the men's 100-meter backstroke on Monday.

Grevers finished in 52.16 seconds, 0.38 ahead of the previous mark set by fellow American Aaron Peirsol at the 2008 Beijing Games.

Thoman was second in 52.92, and Ryosuke Irie of Japan was third in 52.97.

Men's 200-meter freestyle

Yannick Agnel of France routed a stellar field by more than a second and a half to win the 200-meter freestyle.

Having pushed France ahead of the United States in the anchor leg of the 4x100 free relay a day earlier, Agnel led from start to finish and clocked 1 minute, 43.14 seconds.

Park Tae-hwan of South Korea and Sun Yang of China shared silver in 1:44.93.

World champion Lochte finished fourth, and world record holder Paul Biedermann of Germany was fifth.

Defending champion Michael Phelps did not enter the event.

Women's 100-meter breaststroke

Fifteen-year-old Ruta Meilutyte of Lithuania won the 100-meter breaststroke.

Meilutyte finished in 1 minute, 5.47 seconds to hold off a late charge from world champion Soni, who touched second in 1:05.55.

Satomi Suzuki of Japan finished in 1:06.46 to take bronze.

Defending champion Leisel Jones of Australia was fifth.

Like what you see here? Become a member.

Show Me the Errors (What's this?)

Report corrections or additions here. Leave comments below here.

You must be logged in to participate in the Show Me the Errors contest.


Leave a comment

Speak up and join the conversation! Make sure to follow the guidelines outlined below and register with our site. You must be logged in to comment. (Our full comment policy is here.)

  • Don't use obscene, profane or vulgar language.
  • Don't use language that makes personal attacks on fellow commenters or discriminates based on race, religion, gender or ethnicity.
  • Use your real first and last name when registering on the website. It will be published with every comment. (Read why we ask for that here.)
  • Don’t solicit or promote businesses.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through. If you see something objectionable, please click the "Report comment" link.

You must be logged in to comment.

Forget your password?

Don't have an account? Register here.