Boone County voters choose members for party central committees

Tuesday, August 7, 2012 | 11:05 p.m. CDT; updated 11:14 p.m. CDT, Tuesday, August 7, 2012

COLUMBIA — Democrats, Republicans and libertarians each have party central committees in Boone County to advocate for candidates and to address other political business. Although some seats remain vacant, the committees are intended to be represented by a man and woman from each political ward and township in the county. Voters from each party chose committee members on Tuesday.

In two close races, Janice Faaborg narrowly defeated longtime Boone County Democratic Central Committee Chairwoman Phyllis Fugit in Katy Township by a vote of 133 to 105. Bruce Cornett, chairman of the Boone County Republican Party Central Committee, retained his seat by two votes, defeating Greg Engel and David Clark.

Here is a list of the central committee results for other contested seats in the county:


Columbia First Ward Committeeman

  • Mitch Richards: 154
  • Steve Athans: 82

Columbia Second Ward Committeeman

  • Dale Parmer: 525
  • Tony Lupo: 265

Columbia Second Ward Committeewoman

  • Allison Lupo: 248
  • Jennifer Murphy: 532

Columbia Third Ward Committeeman

  • Norman Lampton: 185
  • Philip Dooley: 184
  • John Davis: 305

Columbia Fifth Ward Committeeman

  • David Clark: 263
  • Greg Engel: 397
  • Bruce Cornett: 399

Columbia Sixth Ward Committeeman

  • Ryan Henry: 256
  • Tylor Whitham: 91

Centralia Second Ward Committeewoman

  • Christyne Robertson: 61
  • Nancy Stroppel: 108

Sturgeon Second Ward Committeeman

  • Kevin Abrahamson: 18
  • Elba Roark: 7

Missouri Township Committeewoman

  • Rebecca Miller: 271
  • Jennifer Keyzer-Andre: 43

Perche Township Committeewoman

  • Peggy Eskew: 127
  • Julie Patterson: 126

Rock Bridge Township Committeeman

  • Tom Mendenhall: 238
  • James Coyne: 81

Rock Bridge Township Committeewoman

  • Erin Nolan: 215
  • Maureen Coyne: 80

Three Creeks Township Committeewoman

  • Jennifer Bukowsky: 137
  • Lynn Acton: 162

Supervising editor is Scott Swafford.

Like what you see here? Become a member.

Show Me the Errors (What's this?)

Report corrections or additions here. Leave comments below here.

You must be logged in to participate in the Show Me the Errors contest.


Leave a comment

Speak up and join the conversation! Make sure to follow the guidelines outlined below and register with our site. You must be logged in to comment. (Our full comment policy is here.)

  • Don't use obscene, profane or vulgar language.
  • Don't use language that makes personal attacks on fellow commenters or discriminates based on race, religion, gender or ethnicity.
  • Use your real first and last name when registering on the website. It will be published with every comment. (Read why we ask for that here.)
  • Don’t solicit or promote businesses.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through. If you see something objectionable, please click the "Report comment" link.

You must be logged in to comment.

Forget your password?

Don't have an account? Register here.