Advisory committee selected to coordinate University of Missouri Press integration

Thursday, September 27, 2012 | 9:40 p.m. CDT

COLUMBIA — A committee has been selected to integrate the University of Missouri Press with the academic and research missions of MU, which recently took control of the press.

Creation of the committee, called the Press Advisory Committee, was announced in an Aug. 28 press release from MU News Bureau.

The list of committee members was distributed at an MU Faculty Council meeting Thursday by Deputy Provost Ken Dean. He said that members will receive letters officially appointing them to the committee and that meetings will begin soon.

The committee is made up of members of the Faculty Council, other governing bodies, representatives from other campuses in the University of Missouri System and people who have worked with the press.

Members of the committee are:

  • Craig Roberts, MU professor of plant sciences.
  • Rebecca Johnson, MU nursing professor.
  • Gary Ebersole, chairman of the University of Missouri-Kansas City Department of History.
  • Michael Murray, professor of broadcast journalism at the University of Missouri-St Louis.
  • Mark Fitch, associate professor of civil engineering at Missouri University of Science and Technology.
  • Steve Moehrle, chairman of the Intercampus Faculty Council and an associate professor of accounting at UMSL.
  • Wilma King, director of the black studies program at MU and member of a standing Press Committee separate from the advisory committee.
  • Becky Stafford, chairwoman of the MU Staff Advisory Council.
  • Kristofferson Culmer, president of the MU Graduate Professional Council.
  • Mel George, UM System president emeritus.
  • Geoff Giglierano, executive director of the Missouri Humanities Council.
  • Jane Lago, former managing editor of the press.
  • John Fennell, associate professor of journalism at MU.
  • Gary Kremer, director of The State Historical Society of Missouri, who is listed as an editor on several history titles published between 1991 and 2004.
  • Susan Flader, professor emerita of history at MU, who wrote "Exploring Missouri's Legacy: State Parks and Historical Sites," published by the press in 1992.
  • Mary Barile, associate director of the MU Office of Grant Writing and Publications, whose book "The Santa Fe Trail in Missouri" was published in 2010.

There also are five ad hoc members:

  • Jim Cogswell, MU director of libraries
  • Michael O'Brien, dean of the MU College of Arts and Sciences.
  • Dean Mills, dean of the MU School of Journalism.
  • Richard Wallace, MU chancellor emeritus.
  • Deborah Noble-Triplett, UM System assistant vice president.

The plan is for the committee to work with a group already in place to help the press transition. This group includes Wallace, Triplett, UM President Tim Wolfe and MU Chancellor Brady Deaton.

Supervising editor is Elizabeth Brixey.

Like what you see here? Become a member.

Show Me the Errors (What's this?)

Report corrections or additions here. Leave comments below here.

You must be logged in to participate in the Show Me the Errors contest.


Leave a comment

Speak up and join the conversation! Make sure to follow the guidelines outlined below and register with our site. You must be logged in to comment. (Our full comment policy is here.)

  • Don't use obscene, profane or vulgar language.
  • Don't use language that makes personal attacks on fellow commenters or discriminates based on race, religion, gender or ethnicity.
  • Use your real first and last name when registering on the website. It will be published with every comment. (Read why we ask for that here.)
  • Don’t solicit or promote businesses.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through. If you see something objectionable, please click the "Report comment" link.

You must be logged in to comment.

Forget your password?

Don't have an account? Register here.