Former Missouri Rep. Ike Skelton recognized by West Point

Wednesday, October 10, 2012 | 7:20 a.m. CDT; updated 10:12 a.m. CDT, Wednesday, October 10, 2012

WEST POINT, N.Y. — Former House Armed Services Committee chairman Ike Skelton will receive the U.S. Military Academy's annual Thayer Award.

The award is named for a former West Point superintendent and is given to citizens who serve the national interest. Skelton, a Democrat from Missouri, was chairman of the Armed Services Committee from 2007 until 2011.

The former congressman will receive the award during a ceremony hosted by the West Point Association of Graduates on Oct. 18.

Past recipients of the Thayer Award include Dwight Eisenhower, Douglas MacArthur, Bob Hope, Neil Armstrong, Tom Brokaw and Colin Powell.

Like what you see here? Become a member.

Show Me the Errors (What's this?)

Report corrections or additions here. Leave comments below here.

You must be logged in to participate in the Show Me the Errors contest.


Leave a comment

Speak up and join the conversation! Make sure to follow the guidelines outlined below and register with our site. You must be logged in to comment. (Our full comment policy is here.)

  • Don't use obscene, profane or vulgar language.
  • Don't use language that makes personal attacks on fellow commenters or discriminates based on race, religion, gender or ethnicity.
  • Use your real first and last name when registering on the website. It will be published with every comment. (Read why we ask for that here.)
  • Don’t solicit or promote businesses.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through. If you see something objectionable, please click the "Report comment" link.

You must be logged in to comment.

Forget your password?

Don't have an account? Register here.