Thirteen MU faculty, alumni to be honored at awards banquet

Thursday, October 11, 2012 | 5:42 p.m. CDT

COLUMBIA — Thirteen MU faculty and alumni will be honored Friday at the 45th annual Faculty-Alumni Awards Ceremony.

The highest honors awarded at the private banquet are the Distinguished Service Award and the Distinguished Faculty Award. This is 57th year the service award will be given and the 53rd year the faculty award will be given, according to a news release from the MU News Bureau.

The service award will go to John Campbell, a well-known animal and dairy scientist, and the faculty award will go to Randall Prather, a curator's professor and a professor of reproductive biotechnology, according to the release.

On Friday, 11 people will receive faculty-alumni awards. Professors earn this award based on their accomplishments as teachers and researchers and their relationships with students. Alumni earn this award based on their professional accomplishments and service to their communities and the university.

This year's recipients are:

  • William M. Crist, physician
  • Fritz W. Cropp, associate professor at the Missouri School of Journalism
  • Jan L. Dauve, professor of agriculture and applied economics
  • Diane Glancy, professor of English at Azusa Pacific University
  • Sheila Ann Grant, professor of biological engineering at MU
  • Timothy M. Karcher, colonel and director of Army Wounded Warrior Program
  • Harold L. Lowenstein, attorney for the Armstrong Teasdale Litigation group. 
  • James Madison Miller IV, professor of theater at MU
  • Etti Naveh-Benjamin, teaching assistant professor of psychological sciences at MU and director of the Multicultural Certificate Program
  • Thomas M. Scott, former area chairman for Arthur J. Gallagher & Co.
  • Deidre d'Amour Wipke-Tevis, associate professor of nursing at MU

The recipients of the awards were chosen last spring by a committee from the Mizzou Alumni Association, which was made up of faculty and alumni — some of whom have already received the award, Carrie Lanham, senior director of alumni relations, said. 

Supervising editor is Elizabeth Brixey.

Like what you see here? Become a member.

Show Me the Errors (What's this?)

Report corrections or additions here. Leave comments below here.

You must be logged in to participate in the Show Me the Errors contest.


Leave a comment

Speak up and join the conversation! Make sure to follow the guidelines outlined below and register with our site. You must be logged in to comment. (Our full comment policy is here.)

  • Don't use obscene, profane or vulgar language.
  • Don't use language that makes personal attacks on fellow commenters or discriminates based on race, religion, gender or ethnicity.
  • Use your real first and last name when registering on the website. It will be published with every comment. (Read why we ask for that here.)
  • Don’t solicit or promote businesses.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through. If you see something objectionable, please click the "Report comment" link.

You must be logged in to comment.

Forget your password?

Don't have an account? Register here.