8 Missouri public safety officials honored with Medal of Valor

Friday, October 12, 2012 | 8:11 a.m. CDT; updated 9:56 a.m. CDT, Friday, October 12, 2012

JEFFERSON CITY — Eight Missouri public safety officials have been honored with the state's Medal of Valor.

The medals were presented Thursday in the governor's office. The awards are based on the recommendations of a special review board.

Among those receiving the medal was St. Louis Police officer Daryl Hall, who was killed in April 2011 when he confronted a suspect after hearing shots in a nightclub while off-duty.

Others honored were Joseph Heath of St. John's Ambulance Service; Jeffrey Elliot of the Springfield Fire Department; Thomas Bacon Jr. of the Pattonville Fire Protection District; James Cooksey Jr. of the Missouri State Highway Patrol; Robert Siscel of the Sunset Hills Police Department; Curtis Bohanan of the Jefferson City Police Department; and Christopher Suchanek of the Cole County Sheriff's Department.

Like what you see here? Become a member.

Show Me the Errors (What's this?)

Report corrections or additions here. Leave comments below here.

You must be logged in to participate in the Show Me the Errors contest.


Leave a comment

Speak up and join the conversation! Make sure to follow the guidelines outlined below and register with our site. You must be logged in to comment. (Our full comment policy is here.)

  • Don't use obscene, profane or vulgar language.
  • Don't use language that makes personal attacks on fellow commenters or discriminates based on race, religion, gender or ethnicity.
  • Use your real first and last name when registering on the website. It will be published with every comment. (Read why we ask for that here.)
  • Don’t solicit or promote businesses.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through. If you see something objectionable, please click the "Report comment" link.

You must be logged in to comment.

Forget your password?

Don't have an account? Register here.