You are viewing the print version of this article. Click here to view the full version.
Columbia Missourian

MU to award 10 honorees for outstanding service to journalism

By Andrew Brown
October 12, 2012 | 4:42 p.m. CDT

COLUMBIA — MU will hold a ceremony on Monday evening to honor 10 individuals with the Missouri Honor Medal for Distinguished Service in Journalism.

The Missouri Honor Medal is an annual award given to individuals, who have made life-long contributions to journalism. MU has presented the award since 1930. It is one of journalism's most prestigious awards. Some of the most recognizable former medal recipients include Tom Brokaw and Sir Winston Churchill.

The recipients of this year's honor medals have worked in many areas of the journalism industry, including investigative reporting, photo journalism, editing, advertising and media management.

The 2012 Missouri Honor Medalists include:

Supervising editor is Emilie Stigliani.