Cape Girardeau County marks 200th year

Friday, October 19, 2012 | 7:49 a.m. CDT; updated 9:54 a.m. CDT, Friday, October 19, 2012

JACKSON — A southeastern Missouri county is celebrating its bicentennial.

Cape Girardeau County officially turned 200 on Oct. 1, but KFVS-TV reported that the county's Archive Center will give a presentation of the county's history Oct. 25 at the courthouse in Jackson. The event will include the reading of the original 1812 proclamation that created the first five counties in Missouri.

The area was under French control dating to the 17th century and was later ceded to the Spanish. In 1812, southeast Missouri became the Territory of Missouri within the Louisiana Territory and the five original counties were formed: Cape Girardeau, New Madrid, St. Charles, St. Louis and Ste. Genevieve.

Like what you see here? Become a member.

Show Me the Errors (What's this?)

Report corrections or additions here. Leave comments below here.

You must be logged in to participate in the Show Me the Errors contest.


Leave a comment

Speak up and join the conversation! Make sure to follow the guidelines outlined below and register with our site. You must be logged in to comment. (Our full comment policy is here.)

  • Don't use obscene, profane or vulgar language.
  • Don't use language that makes personal attacks on fellow commenters or discriminates based on race, religion, gender or ethnicity.
  • Use your real first and last name when registering on the website. It will be published with every comment. (Read why we ask for that here.)
  • Don’t solicit or promote businesses.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through. If you see something objectionable, please click the "Report comment" link.

You must be logged in to comment.

Forget your password?

Don't have an account? Register here.